Mac's Shoe-Fly Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Very nice bread. I used oat groats instead of rolled oats. I also didn't add the quarter cup of oats later. This loaf rose sky-high in my machine. It was light and fluffy, I wished I could eat more. Next time, I will add brown sugar to try to make a sweet breakfast loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
If I could give it double stars I would....this is the best bread machine recipe I have ever tasted....It's like a slightly sweet, really good wheat bread...Make it even if you don't like molasses because you cannot tell it's molasses.....Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This bread it fantastic and it rose beautifully! I altered it a bit by adding only 2 TBLS of molasses (it was all I had left) and I used 1 TBLS brown sugar to help add more flavor due to my lack of molasses. Finally, I left out the last addition of oats. Despite all of my alterations, this made a beautiful loaf. Also, I only made the dough in my machine and baked it in a regular loaf pan in the oven so its perfect for sandwiches. Yum! Thanks McReynolds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I wish that there were options for four and a half stars. I made this by hand with my Kitchen Aid mixer instead of a bread machine. which I don't have. The measurements were spot-on, this didn't need any extra flour to get it to jump on the hook. I kneaded it with the hook for five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl on my warm oven. The took forever to rise and when I went to form the bread, it formed really easy it was just pissy dough to work with. It fell easily. 30 minutes in a 350* oven and it was good to go. Great flavor, quite chewy. I plan on serving it with Hearty Bacon and Ranch Potato Soup. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is the best bread machine recipe! I did not add the extra oatmeal and it turned out great. The family loved it. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Excellent! I made this in the bread machine, dough cycle. I then made 2 small loafs, let rise 1 hr., sliced the top and baked at 350 for 30 min or so (I live at high altitude, so don't trust my baking times)This is the best machine &/or traditional method bread I have made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This made a HUGE loaf! It's hearty, sweet and moist. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Similar to the bread found at Outback Steakhouse. Lovely flavour, made as described
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This bread came out better and more evenly shaped and cooked than most recipes for my bread machine. I was super happy with the moistness, the softness, and the color. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that it has a slightly weird aftertaste. I did use half wheat flour though, so next time I will use only white and potentially give 5 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Really enjoyed this bread. Made just as stated and the end result was a soft, slightly sweet delicious breakfast bread. Worth a try in your bread machine! :) Tks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Centenar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States