Mac's Shoe-Fly Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Very nice bread. I used oat groats instead of rolled oats. I also didn't add the quarter cup of oats later. This loaf rose sky-high in my machine. It was light and fluffy, I wished I could eat more. Next time, I will add brown sugar to try to make a sweet breakfast loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
If I could give it double stars I would....this is the best bread machine recipe I have ever tasted....It's like a slightly sweet, really good wheat bread...Make it even if you don't like molasses because you cannot tell it's molasses.....Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Excellent! I made this in the bread machine, dough cycle. I then made 2 small loafs, let rise 1 hr., sliced the top and baked at 350 for 30 min or so (I live at high altitude, so don't trust my baking times)This is the best machine &/or traditional method bread I have made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I was out of bread flour so I used AP flour + 1 Tbsp. vital wheat glucose. I also proofed the yeast before adding it in. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. The result was tender and moist, but the flavor seemed a little off. If I make this again I will substitute some whole wheat or rye flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This is the BEST bread - moist, great texture and GREAT taste. After my family tasted the first loaf, I had the machine starting a second one!! Thank you for sharing this wil All Recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I love the richness the molasses imparts. I love brown breads, but don't often keep specialty flours around to make them. That is why I liked this recipe so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very flavorful, though not dense at all. My 7 year old professes to dislike molasses, but could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Just like my Mom's homemade porridge bread from "down east". So good. Worked perfectly in my Sunbeam bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
FINALLY!!! A recipe that is OFF THE HOOK!! Rich and deep in flavor with butter, further complimenting it. It's that bread you get in a restaurant that you can't stop eating! YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
So soft and moist! I used brown sugar instead of white and added an extra teaspoon. Fabulous taste and perfect texture. Love it toasted with a small amount of butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MintNChip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States