Mac's Shoe-Fly Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Somewhat dry and not especially unique. Baked and made in my bread machine. I substituted milk for the powdered milk. Be sure to use dark molasses for flavor and darker color - light molasses doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Slightly reminiscent of the bread they serve at the Cheesecake Factory. I don't have a bread machine, so I just used my mixer and dough hook attachment. Shaped the dough into two round loaves and baked at 350* for 35 minutes on a baking sheet. It was a bit heavy, but it still vanished in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very Good Bread. The only change I made was to use 3 cups whole wheat flour and 0.5 cups bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very tasty! I used whole wheat flour in place of the bread flour, and a squirt of honey instead of sugar. I also made the dough into rolls and baked in the oven to serve with a soup I was making. Awesome warm with butter. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Good bread, not sweet like shoe-fly pie which is what I was hoping for. Works great in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
So soft and moist! I used brown sugar instead of white and added an extra teaspoon. Fabulous taste and perfect texture. Love it toasted with a small amount of butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MintNChip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
FINALLY!!! A recipe that is OFF THE HOOK!! Rich and deep in flavor with butter, further complimenting it. It's that bread you get in a restaurant that you can't stop eating! YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Just like my Mom's homemade porridge bread from "down east". So good. Worked perfectly in my Sunbeam bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very flavorful, though not dense at all. My 7 year old professes to dislike molasses, but could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I love the richness the molasses imparts. I love brown breads, but don't often keep specialty flours around to make them. That is why I liked this recipe so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States