Mac's Shoe-Fly Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This made a HUGE loaf! It's hearty, sweet and moist. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Similar to the bread found at Outback Steakhouse. Lovely flavour, made as described
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This bread it fantastic and it rose beautifully! I altered it a bit by adding only 2 TBLS of molasses (it was all I had left) and I used 1 TBLS brown sugar to help add more flavor due to my lack of molasses. Finally, I left out the last addition of oats. Despite all of my alterations, this made a beautiful loaf. Also, I only made the dough in my machine and baked it in a regular loaf pan in the oven so its perfect for sandwiches. Yum! Thanks McReynolds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
awesome! everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This bread came out better and more evenly shaped and cooked than most recipes for my bread machine. I was super happy with the moistness, the softness, and the color. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that it has a slightly weird aftertaste. I did use half wheat flour though, so next time I will use only white and potentially give 5 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made a few minor changes: I left out the powdered milk and additional oats, replaced the water with warm milk (to give the bread a richer flavor, and keep the bread moist), and used 1.5 cups each of wheat and white flours. I also let the butter sit in the warm milk a bit to soften it up. This bread came out VERY moist, and a beautiful deep caramel color, but the flavor wasn't as unique as I expected it to be. Still yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I wish that there were options for four and a half stars. I made this by hand with my Kitchen Aid mixer instead of a bread machine. which I don't have. The measurements were spot-on, this didn't need any extra flour to get it to jump on the hook. I kneaded it with the hook for five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl on my warm oven. The took forever to rise and when I went to form the bread, it formed really easy it was just pissy dough to work with. It fell easily. 30 minutes in a 350* oven and it was good to go. Great flavor, quite chewy. I plan on serving it with Hearty Bacon and Ranch Potato Soup. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is the best bread machine recipe! I did not add the extra oatmeal and it turned out great. The family loved it. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Really enjoyed this bread. Made just as stated and the end result was a soft, slightly sweet delicious breakfast bread. Worth a try in your bread machine! :) Tks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Centenar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States