Mack's Tunaburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by San Diego Michelle
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Yum Oh! A great alternative to a tuna sandwich. I did change it a bit. I used Veri Veri Teriyaki which is thick with a great flavor not too strong. I also added about 2T of Wasabi paste. I thought this went better with tuna than Tabasco or Mexican hot sauce. The bread crumbs I used were Italian. VERY GOOD- WILL MAKE AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I tried these on the grill and they came out great! Plump and juicy, with no fishy taste. I even topped them with cheese, and they still tasted very much like regular burgers, so they'd be perfect if you're trying to cut out red meat or lower cholesterol. I used the thick, sweet teriyaki sauce instead of the watery "and marinade" type, and I think that made all the difference as far as saltiness, but it's still a good idea to start out with less and add more to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I wouldn't say this tastes anything like real beef but it did turn out really good. I did add the entire egg which held the patty together really well. I also didn't add teriyaki sauce at all, instead I added some sweet pickle relish, garlic powder, black pepper and lots of dill. Before I pan-fried them I coated them with bread crumbs so they were nice and crispy. I agree with another user that these would be great served on salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was pretty good. I love tuna and can eat it everyday so I like to find different ways to make it. I will make this again but I will cut back on the teriyaki sauce a little bit. Although I like teriyaki sauce, I thought it was a little overpowering for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
After reading the reviews, I chose to use a teriyaki sauce that was thicker and only used 1/4c of it with a doubled recipe. These make a great cheaper and tasty alternative to turkey burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. I was looking for something more interesting to do with some tuna I had gotten on sale and saw this recipe. I didn't have any teriyaki sauce so I substituted equal parts of barbecue sauce, soy sauce and worcestershire sauce to equal 1/4 of a cup. I also accidentally added the yolk of the egg, but I'm not worried about cholesterol or calories so I figured it couldn't hurt. It turned out pretty well, although I had trouble keeping it all in one piece in the pan, and had to keep squishing it back together. It was soft and moist, not dry, but had a similar texture to my mom's salmon patties, only better. It tasted nothing like beef but I don't mind at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was a waste of good tuna. I followed the recipe exactly and it was too dry, too salty, but otherwise tasted like cardboard. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
this is a great way to do something different with tuna. next time i make it i will season more to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
My kids (ages 5 and 18 months) liked this, and it's a cheap, easy meal so I'm sure I'll make it again! I was so skeptical that I actually made backup mac & cheese which I didn't wind up needing. I think next time I'll try more tuna and less breadcrumbs. I used Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs because that's what I had, but I think plain would have worked better with the teriyaki flavor. This is a also good recipe to sneak good-for-you stuff into, like flaxseed & wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I personally thought that these were just ok but the veggie girls I worked with loved them and would like for me to make them again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States