Mack's Tunaburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Chris, this is so yummy! thanks for the awesome recipe! I forgot to add the hot pepper sauce, but that's OK because my super-picky 4 yr old loved it. Even my husband, who hates anything to do with fish, said "these are actually really good!" So I make a batch of 5, then cook them and chill them for lunch sandwiches. I'll share this recipe with everyone I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I wouldn't say this tastes anything like real beef but it did turn out really good. I did add the entire egg which held the patty together really well. I also didn't add teriyaki sauce at all, instead I added some sweet pickle relish, garlic powder, black pepper and lots of dill. Before I pan-fried them I coated them with bread crumbs so they were nice and crispy. I agree with another user that these would be great served on salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I was looking for a cheap easy and differnt use of tuna and this caught my eye. The only difference was the use of Safflower oil instead of veg. oil. These are quite tasty, but be very careful of how much teriyaki sauce you use. It can become overwhelming. I would definitely try this again with a bit less sauce and maybe some onion chunks to give it a bit more texture. My husband and daughter LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Wow I am a vegitarian but i dont count fish as meat so its really good that i can find such good ways to keep getting protien ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The flavor was amazing. I made the mistake my deviating from the recipe. I thought it would taste good to add finely diced onions, it didn't work it made them fall apart. I also used solid white albacore tuna instead of chunk tuna (both packed in water). I think the chunk tuna would have worked better as it has a finer texture and would have stuck together. Since this was a bare refrigerator recipe I used tortillas so it didn't matter so much that fell apart. I also added chopped onions and lettuce inside the wrapped. I will definitely try again. I will not be detered. If I trey the onions again I will try the method used in the vegetarian black bean burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAIA3441

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I've made these twice. Once served on a bun, and once on a bed of mix greens with avacodo and tomato. Both ways it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIETAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Just a lot of teriaki flavor, cant taste anything else, could be good with some changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was a VERY tasty recipe! We can't have hot pepper sauce so I substituted about 1/4 cup fine chopped onion and a little powdered ginger. I also used the whole egg for a bit higher protien. I did use about half the recommended teriyaki sauce and fresh crumbled whole wheat bread, (about a piece and a half), to one can white albacore tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. I was looking for something more interesting to do with some tuna I had gotten on sale and saw this recipe. I didn't have any teriyaki sauce so I substituted equal parts of barbecue sauce, soy sauce and worcestershire sauce to equal 1/4 of a cup. I also accidentally added the yolk of the egg, but I'm not worried about cholesterol or calories so I figured it couldn't hurt. It turned out pretty well, although I had trouble keeping it all in one piece in the pan, and had to keep squishing it back together. It was soft and moist, not dry, but had a similar texture to my mom's salmon patties, only better. It tasted nothing like beef but I don't mind at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Great recipe! I didn't have any hot pepper sauce, so I used crushed red pepper flakes. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States