Macaroons III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
I changed this receipe just a bit.. I added 2/3 cup of flour (stops the spreading) and altered the extract amount to 1 tsp of Almond extract + 1 1/2 tsp of Vanilla extract. I baked them for 12 minutes at 350F on a non-stick airbake cookie sheet that I sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This has always been a favorite recipe of mine to use every year at Christmas. Over the years of making them I have learned a few things. One thing I recommend is use parchment paper or a silicone mat. I remember these were sticky and a little hard to take off the cookie sheet in years past. Another thing I recommend is once you scoop the "dough" on the mat is to damp your fingers and lightly tap down any of coconut flakes that may be sticking up to prevent burning. These cookies also need to sit awhile before enjoying being that if they don't have time to fully cool, they will fall apart. But nonetheless, great macaroon in my book. Oh, side note: I used Fat free condensed milk this time and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ducky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
These were super easy to make and came out perfect the first time. The flavor was outstanding. I didn't have any problems with running or anything, will be making time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM3BOYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
These are perfect. They are delicious and simple; moist and chewy. I added almond extract instead of vanilla. Just be VERY careful when removing them from the cookie sheet. DON'T USE YOUR FINGER TO GET IT OFF OF THE SPATULA!!! Remember the warnings about hot caramel??? Well, hot sweetened condensed milk is just as sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Great and super easy! Be sure and remove at once, as it says. A FANTASTIC chocolate dip for these cookies is to melt 12 oz. butterscotch chips, 12 oz. chocolate chips, and half a block of paraffin (wax for candy making) in a double boiler, mixing with a wire whisk until smooth. The mixture turns out very silky, and stays that way. It is a fantastic tasting and easy-to-work-with melt, and works great if you dip the cookies halfway into the melt (very pretty!). You can use what's leftover from the melt onto the "Hocky Pucks" recipe on this site. Thanks for the macaroon recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I really don't like cocounut but had some left from another recipe and wanted to use it up. Needless to say, I didn't try the cookies but the people that did loved them. I found this to be easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand. I'll use this recipe again for coconut loving friends in my Christmas cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I took these to a cookie swap and they were a hit! My boyfriend asks for them regularly now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYISME19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I loved this cookie so much...thanks Gayle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
This was great - so quick and easy to make. I topped mine with one big chocolate chip. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This is an excellent recipe, easy to make and easier to eat. They never last long enough for me to know how they keep, lol. Also, using different extract flavours adds variety - try lemon or orange! Fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States