Macaroon Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WaterlessCooker
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
As others said, crust portion was more like brownies. Baked in time given, but I got in a hurry & didn't let them cool long enough before cutting...they didn't look nice but they tasted good...really rich, though, they should last a little bit! Got 24 out of a 13 x 9 pan. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
ok, more like a brownie with coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Bo Beary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Ooooh, these are yummy! This is definitely a keeper. Quick and easy to make, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These remind me of German Sweet Chocolate Cake. Delicious. Cake is very moist and chewy, topping set up perfectly. Remove this from the oven when golden brown on top and the filling should be set. I thought they were perfect. Follow the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I didn't think these were anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My mother made my sisters and I these amazing cookie bars. I am not into coconut, but this recipe changed my mind! It was amazingly great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I just made these cookie bars. Instead of using the box of devil's food cake mix, I used a box of butter pecan cake mix, I added a tablespoon of vanilla instead of a teaspoon, and I didn't have any pecans on hand so I used chopped walnuts instead. These cookie bars are to die for. I froze half of them for when my son comes home for Christmas from Canada, and left the other half for my other son and husband, along with other family members to enjoy. I'm very happy I gave it a chance...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
These were so easy, and a huge hit at my office! I think I bought the wrong kind of cake mix though, I forgot to convert to metric before I went shopping. Either way, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was very quick to put together, and the cake mix base was easy to pat into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Great bars! Next time I will probably add mini chocolate chips to the cake mixture to add a little more to it. I also drizzled bittersweet chocolate on top, it went well with the sweetness of the coconut layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Rice Bittner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States