Macaroni Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
Unspeakably awful. We downloaded the recipe and made it as something of a joke, for it sounded awful, but the result was far worse than we expected. Mixing fruit and sweet flavors with pasta must be about the worst idea of the new century!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
I brought this for an evening gathering of 12 adults and it was great hit. It is hard to find something that pleases women and men equally, but this did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Nothing wrong with mixing sweet with pasta. I have made a similiar dish as this using a different kind of pasta. It's not much different than a fruit salad, but it has pasta. It's very delish. Great for cookouts or picnics. I didn't do the chilling thing though, I mixed it all together at once. And it keeps well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I served this salad at a Memorial Day Potluck yesterday and it got mixed results; I saw some people poke at it in the bowl and then not take any. Those who ate it really liked it. I think that some just can’t fathom pasta and fruit together. I changed the recipe a little using crushed pineapple instead of the chunks and I substituted Splenda and sugar free Cool-Whip which worked great. Also added sliced strawberries and kiwi as I wanted a “fruitier” salad. I’ll be making this again as all my family really enjoyed it. Try adding extra salt a little at a time if it tastes flat after combining all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I thought the recipe looked interesting and it was. It was really good, a nice change. It was almost a dessert though. A couple people asked me for the recipe so I guess it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I've made something like this, but with Acine de Pepe pasta (small round balls) which adds a delightfully different texture. Additionally, we use fruit cocktail and boil the pasta in the juice mixture. It's now a Thanksgiving Day dessert tradition in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Years ago, Safeway Stores sold a similar salad in their deli section, called Tropical Pasta Salad - and I have been searching for the recipe. They used shell macaroni, and I suspect they used mayonnaise instead of the cooked sauce. It was a refreshing change from the usual macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibsAunt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Always a hit! We have it at every occasion, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
WONDERFUL! My kids were skeptical at first but ended up loving it. I did use the "frog eyes" instead of regular macaroni. Makes a very large batch...will half it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was an awsome recipe! The texture of the fruit and the pasta was very pleasing and the taste was quite a lovely fruity flavor. Husband and I both loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States