Macaroni Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a great macaroni salad, I was looking for a recipe that did not call for celery, because I did not have any on hand and did not want to make a trip to the grocery store just for celery. I did make some alterations, because I personally do not like salad dressing ( miracle whip, or others of the same ) so I used real mayonnaise with olive oil. When making the dressing for for the salad I taste tested as I knew it may be on the bland side ( using mayo instead ) so I added one package of .08 oz dry Italian dressing flavoring packet ( Nature Valley ) and one tablespoon of distilled white vinager. When making the vege mix I only had Roma ( plum ) tomatoes on hand and the recipe did not specify the tomato type so I used 3 large Roma tomatoes. I also added about one cup of matchstick carrots. The end result was fantastic. This is now the only Mac salad I will make. Love It. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was a hit at dinner. I omitted the onion and added 1 red pepper. and used only 1 green pepper. I also did add a 1/2 packet of hidden valley ranch powder as others suggested. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Excellent Salad! I like my salad with a little more zip so I added 2 tablespoons of white wine vinegar. Very smooth and creamy, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hutch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I used half gold tomatoes since my neighbor has a whole mess of them, and it added another color. This was OK but I'm mostly in agreement with those saying it lacks some flavor as is. Miracle Whip has a bit of a tang, but this did not come off in the salad. It took me a bit to figure out that I *think* it might be the milk just killing that natural tang and making it a bit of a dead mayo thing. It seems several are now adding ranch dressing mix to it, which would kick it up a bit, but that's not this recipe. I didn't think of that and had a hard time sprucing it up. As one person said, though, it is a good way to use up cucumbers and I didn't think it was too many but mine were smallish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made this for our Mothers Day gathering. Everyone enjoyed it. The only thing I will do differently is to add red onion or a sweet onion and perhaps some ranch dressing. My husband wanted me to add come cheese next time. It was a very good recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was good. I did added hb egg to it. I would cut the onion some it was a bit overwhelming. Overall tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is a good BASE for a macaroni salad but the recipe as-is is lacking flavor. I cut out the tomatoes and used 2 celery stalks, a red pepper and 1/2 of a green pepper. I used about a tablespoon of ranch dessing mix and a little yellow mustard to taste, added some black pepper, dried parsley, and white wine vinegar. This needs to sit an hour or 2 before serving to let the flavors develop. if you use the ranch mix I think you can leave out the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very creamy and delish but we like to add a can of tuma, fresh dill, and some chopped dill pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Family loved This! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was ...okay... none of my daycare kids liked it and my boyfriend and I didn't really either. It was thrown out. It was lacking something important but we couldn't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States