Macaroni Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Liz Dalton
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I make this all the time. I use 1lb. ground beef and that's good for us. Really versatile dish you can add anything you have on hand and change it up. This time I used 1 can of peas. I've added 1lb. mushrooms and it was great! I make my own tomato sauce so I probably use more than the recipe. This is in my regular recipe shuffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This was definitely well liked by my entire family. I modified the recipe to use what I had on-hand. I used Campbells Tomato soup instead of tomato sauce, two cans of diced tomatos instead of one and added a small can of finely chopped mushrooms. After assembling the mixture, I baked it at 350 for 50 minutes. I then put a four cheese blend of shredded cheese on top and baked for an additional 10 minutes. I let this rest for 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I used organic ground beef and organic roasted diced tomatoes. A packet of dry mix of Italian seasoning used to make Italian dressing was substituted for the seasoning. I began with half a packet and ended up adding the whole packet... good! I used a dash or two of Emeril's Kick It Up Sauce in place of cayenne pepper. Also added twice as much of diced tomatoes than called for as well as added about 1/2 cup of water. A half hour of cooking is plenty! Good recipe that I will make again but believe that the flavor of the ground beef I used contributed to the flavor as well as the Muir Glen roasted diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I doubled the amount of tomato products and I'm glad I did so. The original recipe must be very dry. Also doubled the amount of seasoning and it could have used more. A nice goulash recipe if you don't have a jar of spaghetti sauce handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Quick and easy weeknight throw-together! Needs a lot more seasoning. I used tomato puree and a can of diced tomatoes. Perfect thickness to hold on to the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I only had one and a half pounds of ground beef so I just used that. I quadrupled the italian seasoning at least the spices and added a large can of organic tomato sauce to make it a little wetter. I didn't use a full pound of cheese just to cut back on the fat content, I used about 4 oz. shredded 2% sharp cheddar. This is just like goulash, or the one I was familiar with as a kid. I served this with Emergency Garlic Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Lacked flavoring...very bland! I might try it again just add bell peppers and maybe some tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cin_373

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
pretty good but not saucy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaaaamazing
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was so yummy! Although I had to leave the onion out and mix a few of my seasonings since I didn't have italian seasoning, it was still great. My husband has never liked any kind of pasta or Italian like food, but he gobbled it up and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaaaamazing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Great taste! I did think the sauce was a little thick so I ended up adding the rest of a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also only used 1 lb of ground beef and not quite a pound of shredded cheese. Mixed half the cheese into the pasta and the rest on top. Be careful when placing under the broiler that you watch it closely. 5 minutes was almost too long for mine and it was set to LO. Makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States