Macaroni Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was great! I was very impressed how good it was. I thought it seemed like a lot of milk but the key is to make sure you stir until thick and the milk just absorbed right into the casserole during baking. I also used shredded cheese rather than sliced b/c that is all I had on hand and it was perfect and easier. I will definitely replace my old mac and cheese recipe with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I didn't have enough milk for my regular recipe, so I decided to try this out for lunch. It was very good, my family really enjoyed it. The only change I made was the addition of bread crumbs on top. (family preference) Oh, and I used shredded cheese, and mixed it together. One note, my family loves salt, and we add it to everything. This was salty enough, not even my husband added salt. Just thought I would give a heads up to those that dont like it. Anyways, thank you for sharing, this was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
Delicious. My kids told me "don't make the stuff in the box anymore, only make this recipe". This recipe is really good, easy and has a homemade flavor to it. Great recipe Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
This recipe turned out great - a lot better than expected. This dish tastes a lot better than it sounds. I am making it AGAIN tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Just like Grandma used to make, although she used Extra Sharp cheddar and added little cayanne pepper to boot! Make a huge batch, put some in lots of little tin throw away dishes, cook and freeze for later, just like Grandma did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
This was great! I added some of Emeril's special seasoning, pepper, and some garlic salt to the gravy portion, and used shredded colby and montery jack and cheddar cheeses. I mixed the cheese into the macaroni, then mixed the gravy into that. It was wonderful; baked all together into a luscious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is great! Simple and tasty. I used penne pasta and shredded cheese (because that's all I had on hand)and it turned out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is a great, simple macaroni and cheese dish! My family loved it. It was not bland, unlike some unsuccessful cooks claim...it was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I used whole wheat rotini instead of macaroni, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
No more boxed Mac and Cheese! This was great. The only thing I suggest is to ignore the time of 40 minutes from start to finish. It's more like an hour or so. If I knew that it was going to take forever to stir the milk, flour and butter to get it thick I would have started it when I started boiling water for the macaroni! Reminded me of making gravy. Went very well with Aussie Chicken from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States