Macaroni Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Good basic macaroni and cheese recipe. Really easy to make. I added a little dry mustard to mine. Also, use a sharp or even extra sharp cheese to get the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Just like Grandma used to make, although she used Extra Sharp cheddar and added little cayanne pepper to boot! Make a huge batch, put some in lots of little tin throw away dishes, cook and freeze for later, just like Grandma did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This is the basic recipe that I have used for macaroni and cheese for years. I always add some grated onion, or some onion powder, tsp. or two of prepared mustard and a little worcestershire sauce to give it a little zip. Family loves it and it has got to be better for our health than adding a packet of processed dried cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I was extremely disappointed in this recipe. I was really looking forward to some good homemade macaroni and cheese. My sons love the boxed stuff and I was trying to coax them away from it with this recipe. I thought I would try layering the noodles and cheese so that there would be cheese throughout not just on top, however, it still didn't solve the problem of bland taste. I'm not sure I would try it again but, if I did, I would try mixing it all together and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I didn't have enough milk for my regular recipe, so I decided to try this out for lunch. It was very good, my family really enjoyed it. The only change I made was the addition of bread crumbs on top. (family preference) Oh, and I used shredded cheese, and mixed it together. One note, my family loves salt, and we add it to everything. This was salty enough, not even my husband added salt. Just thought I would give a heads up to those that dont like it. Anyways, thank you for sharing, this was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was great! I was very impressed how good it was. I thought it seemed like a lot of milk but the key is to make sure you stir until thick and the milk just absorbed right into the casserole during baking. I also used shredded cheese rather than sliced b/c that is all I had on hand and it was perfect and easier. I will definitely replace my old mac and cheese recipe with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I thought this was good, but lacked flavor, if I make it again I will make it with some different cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is a great, simple macaroni and cheese dish! My family loved it. It was not bland, unlike some unsuccessful cooks claim...it was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
Delicious. My kids told me "don't make the stuff in the box anymore, only make this recipe". This recipe is really good, easy and has a homemade flavor to it. Great recipe Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Not a bad macaroni & cheese recipe! Makes a great side dish, but it makes tons - so be prepared for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States