Macaroni Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
Delicious. My kids told me "don't make the stuff in the box anymore, only make this recipe". This recipe is really good, easy and has a homemade flavor to it. Great recipe Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
This recipe turned out great - a lot better than expected. This dish tastes a lot better than it sounds. I am making it AGAIN tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This is the basic recipe that I have used for macaroni and cheese for years. I always add some grated onion, or some onion powder, tsp. or two of prepared mustard and a little worcestershire sauce to give it a little zip. Family loves it and it has got to be better for our health than adding a packet of processed dried cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I was extremely disappointed in this recipe. I was really looking forward to some good homemade macaroni and cheese. My sons love the boxed stuff and I was trying to coax them away from it with this recipe. I thought I would try layering the noodles and cheese so that there would be cheese throughout not just on top, however, it still didn't solve the problem of bland taste. I'm not sure I would try it again but, if I did, I would try mixing it all together and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Just like Grandma used to make, although she used Extra Sharp cheddar and added little cayanne pepper to boot! Make a huge batch, put some in lots of little tin throw away dishes, cook and freeze for later, just like Grandma did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Unfortunately this one didn't turn out to be as good as I expected. My family felt the tast was too flat and didn't care for the texture. I might try this again and add more cheese and extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Easy but bland. I may try it again making some alterations. Deffinantly will add more cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Good basic macaroni and cheese recipe. Really easy to make. I added a little dry mustard to mine. Also, use a sharp or even extra sharp cheese to get the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
My family didnt care for this. It was very bland, and the texture was not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I, too, felt it was bland...next time would add some seasonings and I was wondering if anyone tried using shredded cheese??? seams like it would be easier to shred than slice...we prefer the sharp and extra sharp cheese also...with a bit of altering this would be easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States