Macaroni Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was pretty good. I used shredded cheese instead of cheddar cheese slices because that's what I had on hand. I probably will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Very easy except waiting and waiting and waiting for sauce to thicken, but worth the work. Used half extra sharp cheddar, half smoked gouda, and loved the result. Added a pinch of cayenne to the sauce and could have added more. DEFINITELY could have done the 16 oz of pasta with the amount of cheese and sauce! Holy cow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Not a bad macaroni & cheese recipe! Makes a great side dish, but it makes tons - so be prepared for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
The rating would of been a 3 star if I didn't read the reviews and make my own decisions to add to it. I used sharp cheddar and sauted onions and garlic in the butter before I added the milk and flour. I also added onion powder. The recipe turns out as it should, I made no changes with the milk..it was just right. I think the next time I make this, during the last five minutes of baking, I will add those "Frenches" french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Close to what my mom used to make for us...except she had some sort of ritz cracker topping sprinkled over the top....which I will do next time. I shredded the cheese and it worked well. After it cooled it became a bit thick, so I just added a dash more milk...perfect. Thanks Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Karen you're a genius. I was going to make the old boxed stuff as a dinner side dish tonight when I saw your recipe. It looked easy enough so I figured I'd give it a try. I followed the recipe except for an extra couple slices of leftover american & swiss cheese that I had floating in the fridge. This dish looks beautiful with a crispy topping and piping hot cheesy goodness inside. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This was great and amazingly the milk mixture did absorb into the casserole as stated in a previous review. I made as directed but also mixed in some shredded cheese with the macaroni. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I thought this was good, but lacked flavor, if I make it again I will make it with some different cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I didn't have enough milk for my regular recipe, so I decided to try this out for lunch. It was very good, my family really enjoyed it. The only change I made was the addition of bread crumbs on top. (family preference) Oh, and I used shredded cheese, and mixed it together. One note, my family loves salt, and we add it to everything. This was salty enough, not even my husband added salt. Just thought I would give a heads up to those that dont like it. Anyways, thank you for sharing, this was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
No more boxed Mac and Cheese! This was great. The only thing I suggest is to ignore the time of 40 minutes from start to finish. It's more like an hour or so. If I knew that it was going to take forever to stir the milk, flour and butter to get it thick I would have started it when I started boiling water for the macaroni! Reminded me of making gravy. Went very well with Aussie Chicken from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States