Macaroni and Tuna Fish Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Love this salad...it's great in the hot summer months and you can do so much with it to suit your taste. My family isn't fond of onions, so i use fresh chopped chives instead. I also add a little celery seed instead of celery...again it's a family preference. I too usually add fresh or frozen peas, but the last time I made it, I didn't have any so i tried fresh quartered broccoli florets to add some color and it turned out great. For an added zing and even more color, try sprinkling some paprika over the top for presentation. Sliced green or black olives work well in this recipe as well. Try some of these variations and your summer salad will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe definitely needs help. It's a good basic recipe, but written as is leaves much to be desired. Start out with this and then add what you will: celery, green peppers, peas, cheese, green onions. I found oregano and tuna not a good mix for my tastes. I'd use dill weed. Needs a bit more mayo, to individual tastes. Spice it up a bit by adding a shake of hot sauce or a jalapeno pepper. It just needs alot of additions to make this work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
It needed a lot more mayo than called for! I halved the recipe and used at least 1/2 cup. I also added onion powder and lots of pepper. Adding extra pepper really gives a zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
My husband is a tuna mac man, and he ate it up. So simple to make, esp. since all the ingredients were on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
A basic tuna pasta salad I guess. I've seen sothers along the same lines but still otherwise a fast and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This was bland so I had to doctor it up a bit. I left out the oregano and added paprika instead. I also added ranch and eggs, you can't have tuna without hard boiled eggs. The last touch which really gave it the flavor it was missing was some shredded pepperjack cheese. MMM now its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This simple and easy-to-follow recipe turns out a delicious mac and tuna salad. I added a dash (or two) of red pepper flakes for an extra zing just because I love spicy foods! And it's also perfect for lunch for the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
A great basic macaroni salad. Easy to prepare. Good as is or easy to add to. I used more salad dressing then called for. I also added paprika and a dash of seasoning salt. I choose not to use onions, maybe green oninon would be a good addition, or some shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
My family loves creamy tuna fish with onion sanwiches, so I prepare this tuna dish the same way, toss it into the macaroni and add more mayo. I season to taste with the listed ingredients, only eliminating the oregano. We enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This tasted bland to me. I had to add mustard and horseradish just to give the pasta a little bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States