Macaroni and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I started out making this when I was really super broke and the only meat I could afford was bacon. It always increases easily with what you have on hand and however many people you have to feed. I make this now for my boys and add in bacon, add a little bit of spice and toss with parmesan cheese. Never fails to get smiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this at my hubby's request. I have not eaten this dish before so I went on his description of how his dad used to make it as to how this was supposed to be. This turned out wonderfully and my husband was well pleased. He said it was exactly like his dad's were except he wanted it soupier, so the next time I will add some tomato juice instead of sauce or maybe in addition to. I didn't have bacon grease, I just doubled the butter. Thanks for sharing this, it brought my hubby some warm fuzzies as he has some great memories of his dad. Plain and simple, this is good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very good and very easy. I save all my bacon grease and I was looking for a nice easy recipe to use some of it up - - this was perfect and easy. Topped with Parm. cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I'm so glad i discovered this! As a poor college kid, I'm always excited to find cheap, yummy recipes, and this is definitely one of those!! So easy. I used extra butter instead of bacon grease, and added some garlic salt and Parmesan cheese. Will definitely make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
this recipe is my hubbys favorite...I did use 2 cans of rotel tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes to add that extra kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I LOVE this! I've never had macaroni and tomatoes, and had never even thought to try such a combination. It turned out excellent! If you like tomatoes, go for it. I want to say that it's ALMOST as good as plain ol' mac and cheese. I altered the recipe a little bit and added: -1 medium red pepper chopped -2 tablespoons of bacon bits -1/4 cup cheddar, mix in a little and top the macaroni with remaining cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Orchid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kwajalein, Kwajalein Atoll, Marshall Islands
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
It was ok,but it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This came out good! I didn't have any bacon (well didnt have time to thaw it) and since this was a quick last minute meal and what we have on hand i added sausage. My kids love it and ate every bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessAjay2
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I decided to look up something to make with ingredients I had on hand, and this is what I chose. It was surprisingly very good! I guess you can't go wrong with macaroni and tomatoes. I did add a pound of ground beef and an extra can of tomato sauce. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Webb-Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States