Macaroni and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I have been making something similar for years. I use egg noodles, instead of macaroni, add plain, stewed, or rotel tomatoes. Add the sugar, salt and pepper. That's it... It is more like a noodle soup, but so good. SHM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Forge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This certainly brings back memories. My mom used to make a similar version of this, in fact exactly the same, with one exception - she would add about a cup of Cheez Whiz. Served with a salad, fresh buns and beef sausages - great comfort food in the fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppyluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe. I used rotel tomatoes for extra flavor and also added ground round to make a 1 pot meal. We love this in the fall. A good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I was shocked to see this recipe! I thought only my family ate this. Since my dad wouldn't allow garlic in the house my step-mom came up with this acceptable recipe to satisfy the kids desire for spaghetti. Macaroni with canned tomatoes and tomato juice. I grew up loving this and so did my daughter. We thought it was so weird that we joked that we needed to lock the doors and draw the shades so nobody would know what we were eating! Who knew so many other love it as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I make a variation of this all the time for my family and it is hearty and sits well with everyone. I use 1 pound of ground beef with mine and the various flavors that Hunts' Chopped Tomatoes carries, i.e. Basil, Garlic, & Oregano plus I use 1 can of Tomato Sauce as well. You can add mushrooms if you like and you can add cheese. It is good! We call it homemade "Beef-A-Roni".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Moore LeJeune

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I make something similar with orzo noodles. I can diced tomatoes, I can tomato juice, 2 cups water, salt pepper and butter , or olive oil. Put it all in a large saucepan, bring to boil, reduce to simmer. Cook for about 30 min, adding more water or tomato juice if it gets a little too dry. Stir every once in a while. When the pasta is done to your liking, it will have increased in volume a lot. Adjust seasoning. Sprinkle with feta cheese, or parmesan if you like. My husband could eat the whole pot by himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryna Anton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I am 64 and have fond memories of my Mother making this when I was a child. Mom just used a can of tomatoes and no tomato sauce, otherwise it is the same. I will be making this soon for my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Overall, this is basically a healthy recipe. I bumped up fiber by using whole wheat pasta. Its cheap, easy and better for you than many other pasta or rice dishes. Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
My mom use to make this for us. I love it and miss her version. This is a great recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Siler Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I ate a ton of this growing up! Still love it today. I like it pretty basic.. with no sugar or bacon grease, using canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed, using only butter and seasonings: a dash of garlic salt, creole seasoning, and salt and pepper, if needed. Mama never added tomato sauce way back in the day, but I do like that addition for more body. Soo good with hot cornbread! Great childhood memories associated with this dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States