Macaroni and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This was very good after I put in the bacon & Parmesan as suggested in the comments, even my husband liked it and he hates tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowcountryJudi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
My husband requested "tomato mac" like his mother used to make, I couldn't get ahold of her so I found this recipe hoping he would have liked it. This turned out okay and it wasn't anything impressive. I'm not a big fan of noodle dishes to begin with anyhow. I did finally get ahold of my mother-in-law and her recipe was so much more simple and so few ingredients I thought surely it was just going to taste worse than this one. I was so so wrong. All it required was butter to your liking (we use about half a stick or so) per one big box of dry macaroni, a diced onion, and one can of diced tomatoes. You melt the butter, soften the onions, throw the macaroni in as well as the can of diced tomatoes and one can of water. The BIG BIG difference I think in her recipe is that she tosses her macaroni in dry and then stirs it all well, throws the lid on and turns the heat completely off after bringing it up to a boil and lets the pasta sit and absorb all the tomato juices and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Owen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
My family loves this.. They ask me to make it for them all the time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was pretty good. I think the tomato sauce was unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I grew up on this recipe. It's total comfort food. I don't use bacon grease, butter or sugar. I also use diced tomatoes instead of stewed and mix some shredded cheddar cheese in to taste, cover the top with cheese, throw it in the oven and cook until it's bubbly & brown on top. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Perfect comfort food! I didn't have bacon grease and used fresh tomatoes (with juice)because I had tons of tomatoes from the farmer's market. Also added chopped fresh basil just for fun...YUM. Even my husband liked it (and he hates elbow pasta...go figure). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
My mom made this all the time when I was a kid. Forgot how much I loved it. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Michael Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Wow I thought we were the only ones who ate this...lol My husband won't even try it...but growing up in PA, my mom would use elbow macaroni, a jar of her home canned tomatoes, little butter, and pepper (salt was already in tomatoes) and I loved it! I make it frequently for myself, however...I never had it with bacon grease in until now...this version is very good...I think bacon flavor makes everything good...but I'll probably stick to my mom's version because I like just the taste of the tomatoes...thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My Mom made this a lot growing up. When we went to visit in the country she made it with home grown tomatoes. That was the best! We sometimes added ground beef and no, no to sugar or butter. Just the bacon grease, macaroni, one small diced onion, 1 small can tomato sauce, 1 large can whole crushed tomatoes, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States