Macaroni and Cheese with Ground Beef, Salsa and Green Chiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Not impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
For what it is (I call them 'slam-dunk' dinners) this is pretty good. I used 2 boxes of Annie's natural shells and white cheddar and added a minced chipotle pepper (with sauce) into the beef mixture. We like things on the spicy side and this added some good heat. I'll make this again for those nights we're on the run. I served it with a green salad and applesauce. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I used a box of mac and cheese and added some shredded cheese to make it creamier. Also added some sweet bell peppers, fresh garlic, and a can of hominy because I had them on hand. The BF really liked this and it was super easy so I would make it again. If you use a box of mac and cheese this only feeds 3 or 4. We barely had leftovers but I didn't fix any sides. I prefer the cajun macaroni recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and used the Creamy Macroni recipe Excellent as is.I did use my own salsa and fresh green chiles. Next time I want to use Monterey Jack with Jalapeno. For the life of me I can't figure out how people can remove ingredients and add a bunch of other things and then rate it low. It's not the same recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The recipe simply inspired me to make my own easier version. I used to Kraft box mac and cheese instead. I chopped up half an onion and some green peppers. Sauteed that till it was brown then added the beef. I didn't have any salsa so I seasoned the meat with taco meat seasoning. I mixed it all together and I'm sure it was just as tasty as this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefTAVARI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great recipe! My kids ate it up, they actually finished before we did (that was a first). I did make a few changes. I used box mac and cheese (2 boxes, because I did not have the ingredient for the creamy mac and cheese, but I will next time). I only used half a can of green chilies so it was not too hot for the kids. I used the other half the next night for Sloppy Joes II By: Tamara (on this site). We topped with sour cream. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I've made the Creamy Macaroni and Cheese several times, it's my favorite. This is the first time I've doctored it up at all and thought it was very good. I did use a full 16oz jar salsa but I was using leftover cooked ground beef and added a 16oz bag of frozen green beans. I must say, mac and cheese is a great rich cheesy side but I think it may be a little much for a full meal. My husband loved it, thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Not bad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Big hit! I used 2 boxes of Kraft, and only 1/2 c. of salsa so it was just a hint of it. Perfect comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
My boys love that box stuff that you mix meat with... pathetic, I know. But I grabbed this recipe and told them, lets try this instead and see how it goes. They all chipped in on the prep and they now prefer it to the box stuff! ::whew:: They still like other flavors of that box stuff but at least one flavor has bit the dust in their repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States