Macaroni and Cheese with Ground Beef, Salsa and Green Chiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I omitted the salsa and cilantro, and used half sharp cheddar, half mont. jack. I also only used 1 1/2 cans of evaporated milk. The sauce is wonderfully rich and creamy- almost too creamy to eat very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
In my household if the kids ask for seconds it's a keeper. They were eating seconds and the next day for lunch they begged for leftovers. I used Velveeta and shells instead of making the mac n cheese recipe. Other then that I followed the directions step by step. Great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe. A bit too spicy for me, but all in all, very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lissa3967

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I used Kraft Deluxe Family size macaroni and cheese, then Ortega salsa, ground turkey and everything else except the cilantro. This meal describes comfort food. Oooh yummmy! I made it for lunch for my family on a Saturday afternoon. You gotta try it...you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Excellent tasting and easy to make. I added 1/2 cup of onion to my hamburger which to me gives it more flavor. But this one is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
very good! i used macaroni and cheese in a box instead of making it myself. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaseyB!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is really good. A few changes, 1 box of kraf mac, 1/2 pound ground turkey, and half the other stuff, and in my bowl added sour cream. Yummy thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I have to say I thought it was going to turn out bad but boy was I wrong! It was so good! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! I actually still haven't made it with ground beef, but it's a great way to dress up your basic kraft mac-n-cheese. The Deluxe is good, but standard boxed is fine, too. I leave out the cilantro, and sometimes the chilies, but the salsa makes it juicy and I add cayenne pepper. I serve this as a quickie side and people say they'll never make plain mac-n-cheese again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
We loved this!! I halved the recipe (but ended up using the whole box of pasta because the cheese sauce made so much) used 3/4 of salsa, and added in some leftover sliced olives. We were out of chili powder, so I used cumin and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States