Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was amazing! I LOVED the cheeses used!!! My hubby and daughter gobbled this up for dinner and we have left overs for lunch tomorrow! It took me an hour to prep, but I had to grate the cheeses myself and I doubled the recipe. Yummy!! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I thought this recipe was deliciuous! My family loved it! The only thing I would do differently the next time I make it is double the bacon and bread crumbs. That sweet crunchy topping was wonderul and I wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Excellent mac and cheese. This was very filling. Like the other posting, I would double the bread crumb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Took forever to make, but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by belle
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was PERFECT! It took a while to make, def. not a quick fix, but wow was it worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a terrific recipe. I added carrots and bell pepper to the caramelized onions for a little color and diversity. I am thinking about adding broccoli or celery along with the other vegetables in the future. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is an awesome recipe..the only thing that isn't correct is the prep time!! This takes me forever to prepare, I just sat down after an hour of cooking the different portions of the recipe. Maybe someone more experienced in the kitchen would be quicker.. At any rate, I will continue to make this for large events, as there is a TON of this yummy dish when you are finished making it!! Thank you sooooo much for this wonderful take on boring old mac n cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was THE BEST macaroni and cheese I've ever tasted! I cut back on the fat by draining and discarding the bacon grease, and using non-fat cream cheese and non-fat sour cream elsewhere in the recipe. When adding butter to the cooked pasta, I only used 2 tablespoons, instead of 4. In place of the milk, I used non-fat canned milk for a nice, creamy taste and texture. I've tried this with both medium and sharp cheddar cheese. I think the medium is best because it doesn't overpower the wonderful flavor of the asiago cheese. For the bacon, I put it into the freezer just long enough to firm it up then thinly sliced it before frying. Like many reviewers, I doubled the topping. Because the recipe takes awhile to make, I usually double the recipe, baking it in 2 9x13 inch pans plus an 8x8 inch pan. I chill it after baking, cut it into serving sized squares and pop it into individual freezer bags for a quick and easy treat. Pepper Bacon is wonderful in this recipe. My family loves this recipe. I'll be making it again and again. Thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made as directed. Loved it! No need for changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great! The prep time is more than I like to do but then it seems they are always the best recipes! I am going to cut back on the the Asiago cheese next time, it was a little overpowering. My daughter's boyfriends begs her to make it but she says it takes to long!! I will make it at Christimas again so he can get it at least once a year. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCANNON1949

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States