Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great recipe! I doubled the amount of bacon and onions. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I'm always a little sceptical about macaroni and cheese recipes because of the lack of flavor. This one was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Even good cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was delicious. I only used 2 cups Asiago, but kept the cheddar the same. I used regular bread crumbs, and a whole small pack of bacon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
WOW, this was AWESOME. Made it for Christmas and then again for a New Years party because it was so good. I did double the toppings but that's the only change. Guests said it was the best mac and cheese ever and I agree. Definitely lots of work, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I loved this recipe! It does have a little longer prep time but it was absolutely worth it! I usually skip over recipes that have this long a list of ingredients too but don't let that scare you off as most of the ingredients I had on hand anyway! I disagree with those who said that there wasn't enough bacon topping. I thought it was perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
OMG!!!! This was the BEST mac and cheese that I've ever had!!! I didn't use the Asiago cheese (pregnant...over cautious) instead just used more cheddar (Tillamook extra-sharp Special Reserve). I cooked the bacon and onions as directed and tossed the noodles with sour cream, egg and butter as directed but also added Parmesan cheese. Instead of tossing shredded cheese with the noodles and making what appeared to be a roux, I just made a simple cheese sauce; whisked together the milk, butter, flour and spices, let it come to a boil, reduced and added cheese cubes, stirring until all the cheese had melted. Then I mixed it into the noodles and followed the directions as written. DEFINATE KEEPER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Great Bend, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great! The prep time is more than I like to do but then it seems they are always the best recipes! I am going to cut back on the the Asiago cheese next time, it was a little overpowering. My daughter's boyfriends begs her to make it but she says it takes to long!! I will make it at Christimas again so he can get it at least once a year. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCANNON1949

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made as directed. Loved it! No need for changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was THE BEST macaroni and cheese I've ever tasted! I cut back on the fat by draining and discarding the bacon grease, and using non-fat cream cheese and non-fat sour cream elsewhere in the recipe. When adding butter to the cooked pasta, I only used 2 tablespoons, instead of 4. In place of the milk, I used non-fat canned milk for a nice, creamy taste and texture. I've tried this with both medium and sharp cheddar cheese. I think the medium is best because it doesn't overpower the wonderful flavor of the asiago cheese. For the bacon, I put it into the freezer just long enough to firm it up then thinly sliced it before frying. Like many reviewers, I doubled the topping. Because the recipe takes awhile to make, I usually double the recipe, baking it in 2 9x13 inch pans plus an 8x8 inch pan. I chill it after baking, cut it into serving sized squares and pop it into individual freezer bags for a quick and easy treat. Pepper Bacon is wonderful in this recipe. My family loves this recipe. I'll be making it again and again. Thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States