Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
A little labor intensive, but a GREAT Macaroni & Cheese! Yes, as others said double the topping. I used Kirkland's (Costco Brand) Real bacon bits and warmed them in a non-stick skillet, removed bacon bits and proceeded the rest of the way, just enough bacon drippings for flavor and I added a little more butter. Thans for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Super great instead of doubling top i halved the mac... it didnt take as long as everyone else was saying for me prolly 30 minutes prep. I believe anything worth doing is worth the time to do it... this was worth it :) i dint change anything other than halving it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is amazing!! We are cheese lovers so we used a variety of cheeses (not just asiago and cheddar). We also used parmasan and fontina. Romano would be great as well. Like other reviewers, I think this would be better if the bread crumbs and butter (the dry topping) were doubled. This would be a great thing to bring to a Fourth of July picnic. Honestly, as a main entree, it starts to get boring after a while so it would be nice as a really good side dish with hot dogs or something off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Loved, loved, loved this! It took a while to prep but well worth it. I added cubed ham and frozen peas and it was a huge hit in my house. Great the next day too! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Eh... not great! Although, I did leave the onions out- just lacked flavor, I guess- it was good, but for the amount of preparation that goes into it (MUCH longer than claimed!), I don't think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was so yummy! My husband doesn't even like macaroni and cheese, but gobbled this up. Only change I made, was I doubled the topping, and used Havarti cheese because I couldn't find Asiago. Takes a while to make this one, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Keep in mind this is the first time I have cooked a real meal. I love love love mac and cheese, just any version at a homestyle restaurant. My obsession came from childhood and eating at hometown buffet. So I love creamy mac and cheese. This is part of the reason why my rating is only four. I wasn't necessarily expecting creamy or anything, but it did come across as dry. It was just melty cheese that stiffened, but it was soft and gooey enough for me. I went into the grocery store, not sure how much of the recipe I wanted to make. But when I looked at the prices of the cheese, I was about to make a 2 person serving. I was so shocked, but I really wanted to make the recipe. So I bought, a 10 oz block of Vermont and 8 oz block of Asiago... and I didn't really grate the cheese, I kind of half heartly did and mainly shredded. I had to do this for about 1.5 hrs. I managed to get 2 cups of each cheese (although I don't think it should've been that much), so I made half the recipe, and it was too much cheese IMO. There are way too many separate things going on this recipe that it stressed me out being an unexperienced and anal (about measurements) cook. All the dishes left afterward made me upset. But I love bacon and onions and the breadcrumbs so it redeemed itself. I blame myself for it not coming out the best, because when I reheat it, it tastes brand new and a little more creamy, but overall I just want regular mac n cheese. Too expensive and fancy. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was very good! My kids loved it! However, I am not a big fan of the bacon but it helped make the sauce. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe looks a little intimidating but there are a few shortcuts you can take to cut down on the prep time. Even with this changes this recipe was delicious and got rave reviews from my family at Thanksgiving. The first thing I did was use real bacon bits instead of frying slices of bacon. These are found in the salad dressing aisle (at leas that's where they are in Cub). I also just used an assortment of shredded cheeses- sharp cheddar, mozzarella, Parmesan and an Italian blend (it's what I had on hand). I didn't add any of the bread crumbs and I also didn't add the caramelized onions because I knew certain family members wouldn't like them because they (gasp) don't like onions! I basically followed the directions for the cream cheese, sour cream, egg mixture and then the roux. Mixed that all together with the pasta, added the spices and the cheese. Then baked until golden brown and bubbling. With a few of those changes it should cut down your prep time. Next time I make it I will be adding the caramelized onions because I think that added sweetness would be delicious! And, adding bacon to anything instantly makes it a crowd favorite! Don't get too scared by the number of ingredients and give this a try- you won't be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wow! This is soooo good. It takes a bit of work but the results are well worth it. I've made homemade macaroni and cheese for years always adding the cheese to the sauce. Adding the cheese directly to the noodles and then mixing the white sauce in makes the mac and cheese much cheesier. The only thing I did differently was use about a Tbsp. of dried parsley and omit the paprika and hot pepper sauce. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States