Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Now this is what mac and cheese is supposed to be like! Very rich and creamy, I didn't use any low fat anything in it, it's comfort food. Not something I would eat every day, maybe every other day. I doubled the bacon because I like to add bacon to the mac and cheese mixture, Ya can't ever get enough bacon. This is one of the 3 mac and cheese recipes I will always rely on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Oh goodness, this recipe took forever to make and I am actually really tired now. Has a good taste but all that cheese can't be good for anyone so I only used 8oz asiago and 16oz cheddar and it still tasted good. Please be prepared before making this dish for the excessive prep time and for every dish in your cabinet to be dirty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
AMAZING! I'm normally a traditionalist when it comes to mac and cheese but the bacon and caramelized onions added a wonderful flavor. I halved the recipe and I'm glad I did because it still made a ton. I also doubled the topping like reviewers said and I completely agree because it's the best part! I even cut out a lot of fat using 2% milk, fat free sour cream, reduced fat cream cheese and half reduced fat cheese and it still turned out scrumptious. One recommendation I would make would be to combine cooking steps to make prep time faster. While boiling the water and pasta, start browning your onions, and while those are browning start cooking bacon and getting other elements together. (obviously I did not follow the cooking in bacon fat part) But it all came together a whole lot faster. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunsh25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
My husband and I both enjoyed this. I used 2% Sharp Cheddar Cheese (because that is all I had on hand) and light Sour Cream. While I am not a low-fat cook, it was so flavorful with the bacon and onions, that I would use lighter cheese and less butter next time as well. Definitely add more bacon. I served it with Roasted Asparagus. A good comfort food meal and nice change from your typical Mac & Cheese dish. Oh, it definitely takes longer than the said 20 minutes to prepare. I think it took me about 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Fantastic. This is my go to Mac and Cheese. After making I freeze some for later. This is work the time and effort. I cook a four lb pack of bacon periodically & freeze it. When bacon is called for in recipes, I simply take some out of the freezer. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I learned something when I made this recipe...I don't care for Asiago cheese. I cut the recipe in half which filled an 8x8 pan just right. My only change was to use the full amount of bacon. This recipe takes a long time to make but looked amazing. My wife liked it but neither my son or I did. I may try it again, replacing the Asiago with another cheese. It was creamy and tangy but was to strong of a flavor for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I will admit, the recipe is time intensive... But WOW. It is definitely worth every minute. Made the recipe for my boyfriend two months ago and he STILL raves about it. Definite must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
The topping is delicious - makes you want to keep eating more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good but it's not one that I would cook unless I had a lot of time to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Humfleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a delicious mac and cheese but never again. This recipe ended up being a comedy act for us. Maybe I’m lazy, but this was a lot of work for a mac and cheese. The amount of pots and bowls I was using filled the dishwasher before we even had a chance to eat. So much for the rolls I was planning to bake. I recommend making twice the amount of topping, and having your glass of wine poured and ready because you’ll be drinking it way before dinner. So, if you have plenty of time on your hands and lots of bowls have at it, because it is quite good and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States