Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good but it's not one that I would cook unless I had a lot of time to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Humfleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a delicious mac and cheese but never again. This recipe ended up being a comedy act for us. Maybe I’m lazy, but this was a lot of work for a mac and cheese. The amount of pots and bowls I was using filled the dishwasher before we even had a chance to eat. So much for the rolls I was planning to bake. I recommend making twice the amount of topping, and having your glass of wine poured and ready because you’ll be drinking it way before dinner. So, if you have plenty of time on your hands and lots of bowls have at it, because it is quite good and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
been making this recipe for over a year now, don't know why I am just now writing a review because I should have long ago. I love this recipe! So does my husband and our 5 kids (one is not eating solids yet or I'm sure he would too). It is amazing. The ONLY thing that I changed is that I double the bacon/carmelized onion mixture because it is so delicious I can't get enough of it. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4eight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made a "healthier" version of this recipes for Thanksgiving and got great reviews. The orginial recipe looked too rich and heavy for my taste, so I took out a bunch of stuff to make it work as a side dish. I thought the flavors and the spices were great, but I made the following modifications to make it healthier without compromising too much of the flavor. I omited the sour cream and cream cheese b/c I didn't have any; I used 2 cups of grated Gouda and 2 cups of Cheddar instead of 4 cups each; I sprinkled a generous amount of parmesan cheese on top.I only used 1 Tbsp of butter for the noodles; I used 8 strips of turkey bacon and cooked the onions in the bacon fat without oil in a nonstick pan, and also double the panko per everyone's suggestions. People were saying the prep time was a lot longer than listed, and for me it was because of the thickening of the milk. I took me about 20 minutes for all the flour and butter to melt in the milk, and if I had known it would take that long, I would have started it the same time I boiled water for the noodles. Some reviews said their mixture looked soupy, so I added 5 heaping Tbsp of flour and added a bay leave to this milk while it thickened. I think if I used all cheese and butter, it would be too heavy for my taste. This way I could eat more of it without feeling TOO guilty. I really liked it though and will definitely be making it again! Hope this helps anyone looking for a "healthier" version of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made this for family Thanksgiving pot luck and it was met with rave reviews. Everyone kept asking if it was "real" macaroni and cheese (?). The recipe is labor intensive and does require many pots and pans but the end result is worth it. I think some tweaks could be made to make it some easier - my biggest suggestion would be to mix the bacon and onions into the macaroni instead of being on top. We had some issues with the bacon burning on top. But that is our only complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
have made this so many times, with different cheese variations as well. always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Delicious! Worth the little extra time. Halved the recipe and still made plenty for hubby and me plus leftovers. Also, doubled topping as previously suggested. Amazing flavor and looks fantastic! For guests or just family, absolutely highly recommend! A meal in itself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
There's a lot of steps, but the end result is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I live in London and made this yesterday for my Independence Day celebration. I received two marriage proposals because of it. So I guess that means this will now be my staple mac and cheese recipe. The real question is, Aussie or French? Decisions!!! P.s. I used 2 cups each of emmental (swiss), mature aged cheddar, and mozzarella for the main dish and used 1 cup of parmesan cheese and 1 cup mozerella on the top! I didn't have paprika or ground mustard and didn't feel that it was missing anything without them. Seriously proposal worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
A hearty mac and cheese! The topping is great- especially appreciated by my husband who isn't a big fan of mac and cheese. I accidentally cooked too long (got busy and forgot about it) and it came out dry- don't overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States