Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
If you know someone that is a Mac n cheese snob (like me) feed them this! Awesome. Make sure you have a few hours to devote to making, as it involves several steps. I used a whole package of bacon and half the amount of cheese and it still turned out fantastic. Try this at least once, after tasting it you, will find out it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe. I found the Asiago cheese to be quite expensive so only used a small wedge and made the difference up with old cheddar, also added small broccoli florets. Family says definitely make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
this is my first time ever reviewing a recipe here. the topping for this mac n cheese is off the chain!!! OMG it is delicious. i didnt have panko break crumbs so i used the progresso italian breadcrumbs and used shredded cheddar cheese. in error i used 1/2 tbs of black pepper and mustad and it was still delicious and creamy. this is wonderful and i will definitely make again, the only downside is that it takes more than 20 minutes prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
The asiago cheese is a bit overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Folsom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Flavor = 5 Stars. Dish = 4 Agree to what other reviewers recommended in doubling up on the topping. I like my mac & cheese a little creamier and I suggest cutting the flour down to 3 tablespoons and adding another cup of milk for a total of 4 cups. The noodles do not need to be cooked prior as it will cook in the oven leaving the consistency perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is one of the very best Macoroni & Cheeese receipes, I've ever used. Follow it and you will get rave reviews on this recipe. It's Perfect ! (my Opinion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Army Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was outstanding. I'm constantly looking for new mac and cheese recipes- this one really delivered. It does take much longer then 20 minutes to prep; however, if everything was bought pre-shredded, etc, it might cut down on the time. To save time, read through the recipe and move the steps around to better coordinate with your own kitchen. Thank you Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
A little time consuming, but definitely. I knew it would be good because anything involving bacon and onions will be fabulous. Unfortunately, may husband forgot the cheddar cheese so I only had asiago cheese, but even w/that, it was still delicious. My only concern was that the liquid milk mixture didn't seem to be enough...the mac overall was a little dry. I would increase the mixture by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Now this is what mac and cheese is supposed to be like! Very rich and creamy, I didn't use any low fat anything in it, it's comfort food. Not something I would eat every day, maybe every other day. I doubled the bacon because I like to add bacon to the mac and cheese mixture, Ya can't ever get enough bacon. This is one of the 3 mac and cheese recipes I will always rely on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Oh goodness, this recipe took forever to make and I am actually really tired now. Has a good taste but all that cheese can't be good for anyone so I only used 8oz asiago and 16oz cheddar and it still tasted good. Please be prepared before making this dish for the excessive prep time and for every dish in your cabinet to be dirty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States