Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Flavor = 5 Stars. Dish = 4 Agree to what other reviewers recommended in doubling up on the topping. I like my mac & cheese a little creamier and I suggest cutting the flour down to 3 tablespoons and adding another cup of milk for a total of 4 cups. The noodles do not need to be cooked prior as it will cook in the oven leaving the consistency perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is one of the very best Macoroni & Cheeese receipes, I've ever used. Follow it and you will get rave reviews on this recipe. It's Perfect ! (my Opinion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Army Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was outstanding. I'm constantly looking for new mac and cheese recipes- this one really delivered. It does take much longer then 20 minutes to prep; however, if everything was bought pre-shredded, etc, it might cut down on the time. To save time, read through the recipe and move the steps around to better coordinate with your own kitchen. Thank you Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
A little time consuming, but definitely. I knew it would be good because anything involving bacon and onions will be fabulous. Unfortunately, may husband forgot the cheddar cheese so I only had asiago cheese, but even w/that, it was still delicious. My only concern was that the liquid milk mixture didn't seem to be enough...the mac overall was a little dry. I would increase the mixture by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Now this is what mac and cheese is supposed to be like! Very rich and creamy, I didn't use any low fat anything in it, it's comfort food. Not something I would eat every day, maybe every other day. I doubled the bacon because I like to add bacon to the mac and cheese mixture, Ya can't ever get enough bacon. This is one of the 3 mac and cheese recipes I will always rely on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Oh goodness, this recipe took forever to make and I am actually really tired now. Has a good taste but all that cheese can't be good for anyone so I only used 8oz asiago and 16oz cheddar and it still tasted good. Please be prepared before making this dish for the excessive prep time and for every dish in your cabinet to be dirty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
AMAZING! I'm normally a traditionalist when it comes to mac and cheese but the bacon and caramelized onions added a wonderful flavor. I halved the recipe and I'm glad I did because it still made a ton. I also doubled the topping like reviewers said and I completely agree because it's the best part! I even cut out a lot of fat using 2% milk, fat free sour cream, reduced fat cream cheese and half reduced fat cheese and it still turned out scrumptious. One recommendation I would make would be to combine cooking steps to make prep time faster. While boiling the water and pasta, start browning your onions, and while those are browning start cooking bacon and getting other elements together. (obviously I did not follow the cooking in bacon fat part) But it all came together a whole lot faster. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunsh25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
My husband and I both enjoyed this. I used 2% Sharp Cheddar Cheese (because that is all I had on hand) and light Sour Cream. While I am not a low-fat cook, it was so flavorful with the bacon and onions, that I would use lighter cheese and less butter next time as well. Definitely add more bacon. I served it with Roasted Asparagus. A good comfort food meal and nice change from your typical Mac & Cheese dish. Oh, it definitely takes longer than the said 20 minutes to prepare. I think it took me about 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Fantastic. This is my go to Mac and Cheese. After making I freeze some for later. This is work the time and effort. I cook a four lb pack of bacon periodically & freeze it. When bacon is called for in recipes, I simply take some out of the freezer. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I learned something when I made this recipe...I don't care for Asiago cheese. I cut the recipe in half which filled an 8x8 pan just right. My only change was to use the full amount of bacon. This recipe takes a long time to make but looked amazing. My wife liked it but neither my son or I did. I may try it again, replacing the Asiago with another cheese. It was creamy and tangy but was to strong of a flavor for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States