Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Elicansmile
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Definitely double the bacon. I had to add a little extra flour to thicken the milk. Made about 8 servings for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was very delicious, but I am not sure I would make it again due to how long the cooking process was. Not to mention how unhealthy it is with all the butter and bacon grease...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is worth the effort. Very creamy and cheesy and I love the caramelized onions and bacon. Will make again definitely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARYN821

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
carmelized onions... bacon... enough said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Amazing mac & cheese. Made it 2x and the 1st was exactly as written and it was awesome. The second time I did it with using a package of already cooked bacon (less messy), not as good as written but still yummy. Also I cut back the asiago to 2 cups and added more sharp cheddar, I liked it that way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Made this recipe tonight sans the bacon. Doubled it. It was 14 lbs. I repeat, a double recipe = 14 pounds of macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThatGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This dish was more complicated than I anticipated and took quite a bit of time to put together, but my husband said it was the best Mac-n-Cheese that he has ever tasted. That's the best compliment he has ever given me on anything that I've ever cooked (he is a Mac-n-cheese connoisseur). I probably will only make it on special occasions, but I am so happy to have it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I'm actually craving it and need to make more as I'm completely out. I froze individual portions and stored them in the freezer. Heated them up in the microwave, from frozen and they were perfect. Even though it took me quite a while to put this recipe together, it was SO worth it. You will not be disappointed. Great to make for a party or to give as a gift. Thanks for a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
So this recipie is amazing but, I changed some things. Like others I doubled the topping. I didn't use asiago because I don't like it. I used a variety of pre-shredded cheeses I had (pepper jack, mozzerella, parmesan and "mexican style"). I also followed one reviewers advice and added a can of evaporated milk and it really upped the creaminess. I love this. My roomate and his whole family love it. If you know your way around the kitchen, the prep time isn't too bad but still longer than stated. I had my roomate do dishes while I was cooking to avoid a giant mess afterward. He complained a little the first time. He has since offered to help me make this anytime becase he can't get enough of it. Great recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Delicious! The best mac-n-cheese I ever ate for sure. I agree the prep time was way off, it took a lot longer than 20 min, however it was well worth it. A lot of ingredients but the flavors were great. I have only made it once and followed the recipe exactly, I may end up trying it again but experimenting with less ingredients (especially in step 5). All in all 5 stars, only because i cant give it more than 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States