Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I'm actually craving it and need to make more as I'm completely out. I froze individual portions and stored them in the freezer. Heated them up in the microwave, from frozen and they were perfect. Even though it took me quite a while to put this recipe together, it was SO worth it. You will not be disappointed. Great to make for a party or to give as a gift. Thanks for a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
So this recipie is amazing but, I changed some things. Like others I doubled the topping. I didn't use asiago because I don't like it. I used a variety of pre-shredded cheeses I had (pepper jack, mozzerella, parmesan and "mexican style"). I also followed one reviewers advice and added a can of evaporated milk and it really upped the creaminess. I love this. My roomate and his whole family love it. If you know your way around the kitchen, the prep time isn't too bad but still longer than stated. I had my roomate do dishes while I was cooking to avoid a giant mess afterward. He complained a little the first time. He has since offered to help me make this anytime becase he can't get enough of it. Great recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Delicious! The best mac-n-cheese I ever ate for sure. I agree the prep time was way off, it took a lot longer than 20 min, however it was well worth it. A lot of ingredients but the flavors were great. I have only made it once and followed the recipe exactly, I may end up trying it again but experimenting with less ingredients (especially in step 5). All in all 5 stars, only because i cant give it more than 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
A lot of dirty pans for an ok Mac and cheese. I just mixed the onion mixture with the Mac to blend the flavors more. Not sure if I would make again but it was ok. Sprinkled a little more panko with asiago on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Used whole wheat pasta, gouda and cheddar cheese and vegetarian bacon......loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was delicious - even my kids gobbled it up. I used a bit less cheese and used parmesan instead of asiago,then I added shredded carrots and chopped leftover ham to the mix and skipped the bacon just because that is what I had. Also thought I had panko and didn't so I just used bread crumbs I made in the food processor from a couple heels of whole grain bread. The topping was great even without the bacon. I will definitely be making this again, but not too often, I'll eat too much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acao
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
It was heavy and filling but delicious! I used about 15 strips of bacon and a little more macaroni, but everything else kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was delicious! I dont like Mac & Cheese but keep trying. I used pepper jack cheese with the cheddar and it was wonderful. I will more than double the bacon topping because there wasnt enough but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
By far the best mac and cheese recipe I've ever made! I will probably use more bacon and onions next time, just because that was everyone's favorite part. Definitely making this more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Wow! Yes, this takes a while to put together, but it's worth the effort. Based on other reviews, I did increase the amount of topping, but the rest of the recipe is fantastic as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States