Macaroni and Cheese with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Left out the bacon and it was still good! Next time I will use Bloody Mary mix instead of tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes now, though I chop the raw bacon before placing it on top so it's easier to spoon out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I didn't think it was bad, but no one in the family liked it. It's just not what you expect from mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good. I think next time I will try chopping the bacon up and mixing it in first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This recipe was a lot of fun to make and left my apartment smelling divine. The bacon makes the dish a little bit too greesy, so next time I am going to use a thinner cut and maybe try to cook it for a minute or so before putting it on the bake. I would also recomend adding more cheese. All things considered, it was a success, although I can't ever see anything bacon and cheese not satisfying my hungry boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirstin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I just didn't like this in casserole form. The macaroni and Cheese tasted delicious before I put it in the oven. Next time I will just eat this as plain mac and cheese and I'll mix fried bacon bits in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickie Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is a well loved staple in my house. I've made it both ways by putting the bacon on top and chopping it and mixing it in with the rest on the mixture...I definately prefer it on top of the dish. I also add some garlic and chili powder. I will make this again and again...SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is macaroni and cheese as I grew up with. Very delicious! The only thing is, the bacon doesn't really crisp up too well when cooked as the recipe states. The thing to do is to half-fry the bacon first, then lay it on top and cook as the recipe states. It will get perfectly crisp and will be much easier to portion out if you do it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is almost exactly how we make macaroni and cheese except instead of putting tomato juice IN the cheese sauce, we add a little milk and then after it's done baking spoon tomato soup on top! I have NO idea how why we started doing this but I won't make mac and cheese unless there is a can of tomato soup also! And people can say what they want about "processed cheeses" but I prefer it to the oily grainy texture of Cheddar cheese anyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
It was good, especially with the bacon baked in. I ended up cutting the bacon into 1" pieces and mixed it in. I did about half of the tomato juice as directed, and I'm glad because it still had an odd taste to it. I am going to try tomato sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States