Macaroni and Cheese V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This is a good base recipe but needs just a bit of tweeking. 1. Because I have a picky toddler I avoided the onions. 2. When making the sauce, add 1 cup of milk to your sauce pan and reserve 1/2 a cup cold milk to mix your dry ingredients in. Mix the dry ingredients into the 1/2 cup cold milk and mix thoroughly--you will prevent lumps this way. Add the remaining 1/2 cup and stir. I found it didn't thicken very well until I added the cheese. I kept the cheese on the heat until the sauce thickened. 3. I recommend adding a second cheese. I added romano but parmasean, monteray Jack or any other sharp cheese would really enhance the flavour. 4. I crushed up 2 crackers and put them on top, I sprayed a bit of olive oil onto them to allow for browning. I also grated a bit of cheedar cheese onto the bread crumbs maybe 2-3 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This is excellent, not your box mix at all. However (isn't there always a however when you love to cook?) I agreed with the reviewer who said less or no breadcrumbs. The second time I made it I left out the breadcrumbs and when I took it out of the oven I topped it with crumbled bacon and finely chopped green onions. Oh wow! My husband declared it "company fare".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elida, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is exactly how my sister and I grew up with my mom's mac and cheese. I added extra cheese and milk so that it was very creamy and cheesy. Perfect!! And yes, it is a bit grainy. ALL homemade mac and cheese, made with REAL cheese will come out slightly grainy in the end. If you want the smooth kind, then quit making REAL mac and cheese, go buy some velveeta and be happy with your processed version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I have always used Martha Stewart's recipe for mac and cheese until I found this one. Sorry Martha. This is much better. Before putting it in the oven I top with a cooked crumbled bacon. YUM! Other reviewers complained about the cheese sauce. I think that it's important to use a very good quality of chedder cheese. It makes all the difference in whether you have a creamy sauce or a lumpy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This is the same recipe I have been using for years, and I adore it. I don't add the bread crumbs to it, and I prefer it that way. The last time I made it I didn't have any dry mustard, and it definitely changed the flavor of it (made it more bland), so I really recommend that people not omit the dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I have tried many mac and cheese recipes trying to find the right "cheesiness" and flavor. This, by far, is my favorite!!! I added 1 cup of shredded colby cheese to the pasta (not the sauce) to make it extra cheesy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
My hubby and I enjoyed this version of mac and cheese. I could have eaten it after adding the cheese sauce to the pasta and not baking. It would have been much creamier. However, my husband liked it baked with the bread crumbs (I used less than called for) but he said that I should have mixed some fresh parmesan cheese with them as well...I will probably try that next time. I might also make more sauce for the amount of pasta...this also might help it stay creamy. I didn't have any mustard so I used some garlic powder and smoked paprika (to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Not sure what went wrong but mine came out very grainy. It did have a nice flavor behind it but it did not get eaten because of the texture. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I have made this dish many times and love it. I like to use strong, white cheddar and top it off with finely crushed Ritz crackers and sliced tomatoes. It makes a wonderful side dish or a main course for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was so yummy! I added a little parmsean cheese and used velveeta. It was to good to be true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States