Macaroni and Cheese V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe looks just like what my dad used to make for us, and I can't wait to try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I loved this, but I did do some tweaking... I used half sharp cheddar and half velveta and added about a half cup Parmesan. Since I didn't have dry mustard I used prepared spicy brown mustard, and used A LOT more of it, probably at least 2-3 TBS. It was SO YUMMY! I did use the breadcrumbs, but next time I might try to add some Parmesan to the crumbs, too. I see lots of possibilities and potential variations for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
OK - Must have done something wrong - dry?? I am thinking if I had added velveeta, it would have been creamier. Still an easy recipe thats way better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is pretty good. It seems like a lot of cheese sauce for a small amount of pasta, so I doubled the pasta. I do have a trick for sauces that require long stirring - warm the milk to lukewarm in the microwave before adding. Cuts down a little bit on the time to reach simmer, hence, less time spent stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! The onions give it so much flavor. I make this for every holiday and potluck and always receive a ton of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunrise, Florida, USA
Living In: Fowler, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is the BEST homemade mac & cheese recipe that I have made. I made no changes to it and it was a hit! I will continue to make this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Just put the milk, cheese, mustard, salt, pepper and flour (2 T) in a blender and blend until smooth. Pour over macaroni and bake at 350 for 40 minutes. 1 cup of macaroni is dry (measure straight from the box - before boiling). I leave out the onions and don't use the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Knox Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Okay flavor, dry texture, and recipe lacked clarification on Pasta quantity, (8 oz. weight dry or cooked, or volume dry or cooked?) I would swap out the cheddar for Velveta or American cheese to give it the texture that it needs. but otherwise a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was a great mac and cheese recipe in itself. I loved that it called for onions and mustard powder and I found the recipe to be quite versatile - I just used a bunch of leftover bits of cheese (cheddar, Gruyere, pepper jack, mozzarella). Unfortunately, I think the bread crumbs really took over and ruined an otherwise delicious flavor. Next time, I'll either skip them altogether or substitute crushed Ritz crackers or crushed corn flakes spritzed with melted butter. Without the breadcrumbs, I think this recipe would have been a four-star. Thanks for sharing! Update: this time I used crushed Ritz crackers (no butter) and it was MUCH better. It did come out a little dry though. Next time, I'll try making 50% more cheese sauce -- it seems to really soak into the pasta as it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I was very excited to make this and serve it to my in-laws. It turned out very dry because my pasta soaked up all the cheese. It tasted just OK, but I was embarrassed to serve it to my guests. My mother-in-law at least helped me save the leftovers by adding ham broth (left from my main dish) to moisten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaPlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States