Macaroni and Cheese V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
We loved this recipe. I have made it twice with whatever cheeses we have on hand. I am going to try it next time with buttered town house crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
The bread crumbs were really unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Easy and delicious recipe. Whole family plus guests loved it. Not fancy, just comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is "the real deal", a classic Mac-N-Cheese recipe, very similar to one from a 1946 cookbook of my grandmother's. The best thing about this recipe is that it can easily be altered to the cook's liking, as seen from the large number of reviews. Although I am a cheddar kind of gal, my family prefers some velveeta in their mac-n-cheese. So, I used half velveeta and half sharp cheddar. I was out of dry mustard, so substituted a half teaspoon of yellow mustard, and also added some paprika to the sauce, but NO SALT, as there is already so much salt in the cheese. It is topped off with grated sharp cheddar, sans the breadcrumbs. I made this for Easter Dinner the day ahead, and also doubled the recipe. It will stay in the fridge for 24 hours and be put in the oven after the hour drive to mom's on Easter. I also made sure there was a little left over to make a small portion for my kid's lunch today, and they, including my husband, fought over it. I have made mac-n-cheese many times, may ways, but consider recipes like this one, made with a basic white sauce, to be the absolute best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Hackley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I had my meal all planned out tonight for supper (fish sticks and macaroni & cheese) and when I went to get out the macaroni to make, I saw that we were out of boxed macaroni! So, I got on trusty AllRecipes.com and found this recipes. I didn't have any macaroni noodles either, so changed the recipe and used rontini noodles. This turned out great and was delicous!! Definatly a "do again". So much better then the boxed stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Absolutely Fabulous! You can't miss if you follow the directions AS WRITTEN! Use good cheese (not store brand, which tends to have less moisture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I was looking for a mac and cheese recipe for which I had all of the ingredients...this one did the trick and turned out great without being too difficult. A good weekday recipe when you want something easy but with some real homemade goodness! Side note, the kids didn't love the breadcrumbs, you could top with more cheese to please them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
added some parmesan cheese as well! Everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Enjoyed this very much. My son said "it's not as good as KD"... but he's just not used to the real thing! He did finish off a giant portion quite happily. I think it's a texture issue. This mac & cheese was a bit dry. Another reviewer called it "cheese-flavoured macaroni" and I agree-- I'd like it a bit saucier. So next time I'd either increase the sauce or reduce the noodles. Or perhaps use 2 c. of milk instead of 1 1/2. The sauce was delicious. I sauteed the onion (a LARGE one) for about 15 minutes so it was nice and golden. I used 1/4 tsp. each of salt, pepper, dry mustard and worcestershire sauce for seasoning. And the cheese was a really tasty extra-old cheddar. I used the tiny bow-tie noodles since I didn't have macaroni on hand. I added a can of drained, flaked tuna, just like I do with KD. Not mixed in, but as a layer in the middle of the noodles. And as another reviewer suggested, topped with sliced tomato instead of the buttered crumbs. It was just easier to slice tomatoes that I had on hand, than prepare the crumbs. And since the noodles were on the dry side, it was good to have the juicy tomato topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
It was good, but a bit bland. I think I will use a sharper chedder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carriebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States