Macaroni and Cheese V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was a fast and easy way to make home made mac and cheese. I was not especially fond that it didn't have a great flavor. I even used a sharp cheddar cheese. It tasted kind of bland. The consistency was great while in the saucepan...nice and creamy, but once I put it in the oven it broke down and got really gritty tasting. I think next time I will maybe add more of the dry mustard and not bake it. Otherwise, I thought it was quick and easy! I will attempt this dish again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettycrocker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very good, but the texture was a bit thick and grainy. Will try again and work a bit on the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
too salty too bland i used prepared mustard so i dont know if thats why not cheesy enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebony
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Very good, I added 2 tbsp butter, with 2 tbsp flour and then the milk. Added a lot of fresh herbs from the garden before baking. Very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
delicious! I added a clove of minced garlic to the onions and butter while preparing and omitted the mustard. This is one of the better Mac N Cheese I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
very good sauce! Make sure you use a wisk when your sauce is thickening to avoid lumps. And I didn't have milk on hand, but I did have non-fat creamer...worked great! And I would imagine a bit better for you =) I also agree with the reviewer that said the dry mustard is essential, and next time I think I will add another type of cheese for a bit more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was okay but not great.I didn't notice the zip that the mustard was supposed to bring to the recipe. My husband didn't like the breadcrumbs but that was just personal taste. It is a good base recipe and a great way to learn how to make it from scratch. I'll probably try it again with different cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda0989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
made this for father's day. it was a hit! I plan to make again this weekend for the 4th. I wasn't too sure about the onion but added it anyway and I'm soooo glad I did. what a wonderful taste and easy recipe. no grating for me though. I used about 36oz of pre-grated cheese. we are cheese lovers and it was great! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I really liked this recipe, I did add a little more cheese than required. It was pretty easy and made a lot. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redsoxdiane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Sorry, I made this recipe exactly as written it was just awful, very bland and grainy. But thank you for something new, I had never made Mac and cheese this way before. Don't think I'll ever make it quite this way again, but it certainly gave me some new ideals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States