Macaroni and Cheese V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Very good recipe. I've made this recipe twice. The first time it came out grainy, the second time it was incredibly creamy and near perfect. I think it becomes grainy if you allow the butter to over cook/burn a little. So if you see it start to burn, START OVER!!! Only changes I made was to add a little more butter, less onion, evaporated milk and no bread crumbs. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I'm giving this only 3 stars, made exactly as directed, it is rather tasteless. One mistake I made was not to add the salt. I try to be careful when salting pasta and having cheese in the same dish. If often comes out too salty for my taste. For the reviewers who comment on the "grainy" texture. This is because the roue is made only with 1 Tbsp of flour to 2 Tbsp of butter. It is very liquidy, one shouldn't have to simmer it 10 minutes to thicken! It does lose some of the liquid while baking. Next time I will add the salt, 2 Tbsp butter for the roue, and just brown the top under the broiler - it is already hot enough from the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as described. I loved the way the instructions were listed to execute in the most efficient way. Very easy to follow. As for the dish, it was way way to strong on the onion and had too much bread crumb topping. I only used one half of a small/medium yellow onion and it still over powered the dish. My kids did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Good, but does lack some flavor.. I have had it with and without the bread crumbs. I prefer it without consistency is more smooth and creamy. Great starter recipe though if you don't have a certain cheese you can add another one in its place and it still is good. I normally use pepper jack in it also and it is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Front Royal, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is one of my most favorite recipes! So easy and yummy! I don't add the topping, but the rest is so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This dish is so yummy! I change it a little and use 1 T. fresh mustard and instead of bread crumbs on top, i use about half a roll of ritz crackers and crush them up and add them to a half a stick of butter and then put on top! We make it all the time and all our kids LOVE it! Its the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This recipe is a good basic mac and cheese. I do find that it is kinna boring and calls for way too many bread crumbs on top. On the whole it was good enough to be finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Pretty decent meal. I would recommend adding a little bit more mustard (like 1/2 tsp. instead of 1/4). Also, we used half extra sharp and half mild cheddar, next time I'll use all extra sharp for added flavor. Otherwise, a very good, easy, and quick meal to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JETS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
this is one of the best mac & cheese recipes, I also added 1/2 cup of Kraft 3 Cheese blends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe looks just like what my dad used to make for us, and I can't wait to try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States