Macaroni and Cheese V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
very good, quick and delicious. Like my grandma used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very tasty- I have made it on multiple occasions! It may not be as good as my good friend Mrs. Pipes secret recipe but definitely a standby recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Very good! Seems that it had way more bread crumb topping than it needed, but that can always be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
It is the best mac and cheese my kids ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I used Trader Joe's Brown Rice Penne and left off the breadcrumb topping to make it GF. Also, held back some of the cheese to sprinkle on top during last 5 minutes of baking. I loved the onions but my kids didn't so I think I'll leave them out next time. I'm so glad I doubled the recipe because it's even better heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was sooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Lee Pea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I love this recipe, so yummy! The first time I made it used Dijon mustard because I didn't have any dry mustard (mid cooking) and it was a hit! Since then I've made it with dry mustard and it's not quite the same. The dijon really adds an extra kick in taste you don't expect in mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
needs more flavor. Definitely leave out the bread crumbs. I added bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Very good recipe. I've made this recipe twice. The first time it came out grainy, the second time it was incredibly creamy and near perfect. I think it becomes grainy if you allow the butter to over cook/burn a little. So if you see it start to burn, START OVER!!! Only changes I made was to add a little more butter, less onion, evaporated milk and no bread crumbs. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I'm giving this only 3 stars, made exactly as directed, it is rather tasteless. One mistake I made was not to add the salt. I try to be careful when salting pasta and having cheese in the same dish. If often comes out too salty for my taste. For the reviewers who comment on the "grainy" texture. This is because the roue is made only with 1 Tbsp of flour to 2 Tbsp of butter. It is very liquidy, one shouldn't have to simmer it 10 minutes to thicken! It does lose some of the liquid while baking. Next time I will add the salt, 2 Tbsp butter for the roue, and just brown the top under the broiler - it is already hot enough from the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States