Macaroni and Cheese V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I only gave this recipe a 3 star because parts of the directions were misleading and I am a cook who's been cooking a while now and I usually have common sence to realize when something isn't working but this particular night I was tired from work and had my toddler hanging on my legs during the cooking process...anyway when I simmered the milk for 10 mins it turned into a sludge, I still spread it on top of the pasta and added more milk and it was fine. Next time I will simmer for 3 mins, add 16 oz steamed broccoli and cut the bread crumbs in half. Otherwise I love homemade mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Great basic recipe. I increased the amount of milk to 2 cups, 3 tbsp of butter, 2 cups of sharp cheddar, and 1/2 cup of a 4-cheese blend. I also nixed the bread crumbs. It turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I had such high hopes for this recipe based upon other reviews. However, my entire family thought this mac and cheese was off. I am not a novice cook and I followed the recipe. We found it bland and quite dull, even using a high quality extra sharp cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Family loved it, but would suggest adding an egg to add some fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanGogh0526

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Best Mac & Cheese ever. Very easy to make. My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is fantastic! Not at all like the unhealthy boxed macaroni and cheese. It tastes so much better and is a lot healthier. It has a wonderful flavor and takes little time to prepare. It is a little grainy because of the breadcrumbs, but that's what makes it real mac & cheese!! Everyone in the family loves it and devours it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made this exactly as it said and it was edible but that was about it. My 1 yr old and 2yr old refused to eat it and my husband and i were able to eat some but not really enjoying it. would not recommend. Guess this just shows that peoples tastes can be sooo different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a tasty dish worth adding to your repertoire of dinner menus. I prepared as stated, then added sliced, low fat turkey sausage. Voila! A one-dish meal. Next time I think I'll add some green onions also. Thank for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have made this exactly as directed & get many compliments. I do like my own tweeks too; I use a high quality very sharp chedder cheese, tsp of regular spicy brown mustard or grey poupon (rather than the dried) & add a bit of regular Mrs. Dash to taste (in addition to salt & pepper). I wisk the milk sauce rather than stir it to make it real smooth. I lOVE the breadcrumbs on top, but my family doesn't so I put the crumbs over 1/2 of it for a delicious thick breadcrumb crust for me :-) I try all my recipes with ricemilk & do not recommend using ricemilk for this one. However, the ricemilk version was still SO MUCH better than storebought boxed stuff. Also, this does seem to need a bit salt. I tried without it, but found I needed a little to taste as good (& I never cook with salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLYALLISONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Loved it! I used Italian bread crumbs instead of the plain ones, which gave it a great little flavor. Instead of dry mustard, I used plain yellow mustard. Also, I used three different kinds of cheeses. The onions were a nice touch. I will definately be using this one in the future. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States