Macaroni and Cheese Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Sounds like a good midweek mac and cheese recipe but true southern mac and cheese recipes never begins with a processed cheese mix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I googled a Mac & cheese receipt and yours looked easy and the reviews sold me. It was for a church group X-mas dinner. I doubled the receipt and could not wait to try. By the time I got to my Mac & cheese on the buffet my huge Casserole was about gone. Everyone was raving how good it was. Thanks Chris for posting. Oh, my wife was very skeptical on how good it could be. She apologized and agreed it was easy and a hit. "Dodged that bullet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Alcoa, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Hey Chris, this is awesome mac and cheese, we love it here. Anyway only a few comments, we did a triple batch (obvously more then one of us), I'd recommend keeping the butter at a 1/2 cup its more then enough. We also used mozarella in addition to the cheddar, it was awesome. The families own personal favorite is lobster with the mac and cheese, but you sothern folks could definitely substitute crawfish, I know I would if I could get them. But just like the receipe says this is one awesome mac and cheese definitely 5 stars thanks for sharing Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevelo1k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was the PERFECT recipe. I have tried dozens, and this is definitely the BEST southern mac n cheese casserole ever. I made it for the guys while they were watching football, and they were licking their plates clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hillsie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Chris, I made your recipe January 6th at a dinner celebration for what would have been my mama's 94th birthday party. Mama passed away in November. Friends and family raved about the mac and cheese, and there wasn't a spoonful left (I doubled the recipe). Mac and cheese was one of my mama's favorites. Anne-Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is pretty good, but I would use about half the amount of butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was wonderful! I doubled the servings and made it for the first time for family on Chirstmas Eve. HIT! As, someone suggested...I too, reduced the butter down to 1/2 cup..I may possibly do even a little less next time. BUT, this is a keeper for our family now! Been waiting on a M and C recipe like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Oh Chris!! Thanks for sharing your recipe. I made it exactly as you wrote it, and it was wonderful! I'm a true Mac&Cheese lover and this was the best. I'll be making this version for ever. Keep your recipes coming...I'll be looking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I tried this, but was really not expecting it to be very good. It was great!! If you have doubts about using the boxed mac and cheese, forget them and go ahead and try this. I used 2% sharp cheddar and only half of the butter called for in the recipe. This will probably be my go-to mac and cheese from now on. Thanks Chris!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this for my sons football team, I made over 40 servings and it was all gone! Great and easy recipe, the best I have found! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States