Macaroni and Cheese Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Oh Chris!! Thanks for sharing your recipe. I made it exactly as you wrote it, and it was wonderful! I'm a true Mac&Cheese lover and this was the best. I'll be making this version for ever. Keep your recipes coming...I'll be looking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was the PERFECT recipe. I have tried dozens, and this is definitely the BEST southern mac n cheese casserole ever. I made it for the guys while they were watching football, and they were licking their plates clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hillsie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I googled a Mac & cheese receipt and yours looked easy and the reviews sold me. It was for a church group X-mas dinner. I doubled the receipt and could not wait to try. By the time I got to my Mac & cheese on the buffet my huge Casserole was about gone. Everyone was raving how good it was. Thanks Chris for posting. Oh, my wife was very skeptical on how good it could be. She apologized and agreed it was easy and a hit. "Dodged that bullet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Alcoa, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Hey Chris, this is awesome mac and cheese, we love it here. Anyway only a few comments, we did a triple batch (obvously more then one of us), I'd recommend keeping the butter at a 1/2 cup its more then enough. We also used mozarella in addition to the cheddar, it was awesome. The families own personal favorite is lobster with the mac and cheese, but you sothern folks could definitely substitute crawfish, I know I would if I could get them. But just like the receipe says this is one awesome mac and cheese definitely 5 stars thanks for sharing Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevelo1k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was wonderful! I doubled the servings and made it for the first time for family on Chirstmas Eve. HIT! As, someone suggested...I too, reduced the butter down to 1/2 cup..I may possibly do even a little less next time. BUT, this is a keeper for our family now! Been waiting on a M and C recipe like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
YUMMY! I needed a mac and cheese dish to take to a family Christmas lunch. I only had one box so I supplemented with additional noodles and doubled the other ingredients. Using what I had on hand I added 1/4 cup shredded pepper jack and extra shredded cheddar. I followed the suggestion by another reviewer and did not double the butter. Lots of compliments and everyone wanted a share of the leftovers! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Chris, I made your recipe January 6th at a dinner celebration for what would have been my mama's 94th birthday party. Mama passed away in November. Friends and family raved about the mac and cheese, and there wasn't a spoonful left (I doubled the recipe). Mac and cheese was one of my mama's favorites. Anne-Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Sounds like a good midweek mac and cheese recipe but true southern mac and cheese recipes never begins with a processed cheese mix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made this dish for dinner tonight. My boyfriend loved it!! I used a 1/3 c. margarine. It was still plenty rich and yummy. It was super easy to make too. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Made this as written except I only used 1/4 cup of butter to cut back on the fat. My wife, who hates Mac and cheese, thought it was very good. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States