Macaroni and Cheese Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I tried this recipe today and it came out delicious and perfect. It was very close to tasting like my mother'a. And that's really saying something. I added sour cream to the milk mixture and it was wonderful. I will try this again but add mozzerella and colby jack cheeses. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Starke, Florida, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Used a lot less butter. Adding pasta water to 1/4in over made the dish way too moist. The cheese stayed separated from the pasta. Will definitely try again using less pasta water, and will grate the cheddar and mix throughout before adding milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Excellent dish!!! My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Made this as stated and had a lot of excess butter. Fiance loved it, but a tad too oily for my taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzy730

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I followed the directions exactly. I did use 1/2 stick of butter, rather than a whole stick. It was still plenty buttery. It looked exactly like the picture. I wasn't wild about how egg-y this recipe is. It was quiche textured. I prefer a creamy/cheesy mac'n cheese, as I usually make, that starts with a roux and contains no eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel06
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I LOVE this Mac and cheese !!! It's almost as good as my moms, which is slightly complicated and has too many steps!!! It's perfect for my valentines day dinner for me and my special somebody!!! I added some garlic bread crumbs and more cheese!!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made this macaroni and cheese for the family and they loved it!!! We are from the south and we know good southern macaroni and cheese and this is great. My husband thought I had called my aunt and gotten her recipe, but this is going to be my new recipe because it is quick, simple and delicious. Thanks so much for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Chris, okay I just gotta say...... I am a HUGE Mac and Cheese lover. I found your recipe, thought the pic looked good, so I tried it. It was absolutely delicious! I, like others, also cut the Butter just a tad-bit and added some Mozzarella on top of the Cheddar but all in all, its a keeper and #1 in my book! Thanx for sharing and wonderful job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Never made homemade mac and cheese before but I uses this recipe sort of like a base. Instead of strips of cheddar, I used shredded cheese. It turned out delicious and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
great and easy - did not have to bake as long as it suggested. I added a few extra noodles but didn't double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States