Macaroni and Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I made this salad for a family birthday party and it was a HUGE hit! I added some grated carrots to the recipe and it was a great compliment to the other veggies. Also I cut the tomatoes into quarters and it added lots of colour to the salad. My mom said she will never be able to buy macaroni salad again from a store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This has become a favorite in my household. We add a tad more cheese--ok alot but we LOVE cheese. I also have to credit the author for my learning to make Beau Monde seasoning, but that's another story! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Great pasta salad. I don't like a strong vinegar taste so, I almost left it out. I'm glad I didn't because the salad was great! Kids loved it too! I'lldefinitely keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I thought this was really good. I made it exactly as written and I think next time I would try cucumbers or peas instead of peppers, but that is personal preference. The dressing is very good and I think that's because of the Beau Monde. I made this salad as a side to barbeque ribs and it was an awesome summer Saturday night supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
This was REALLY Great !! I couldn't find Beau Monde seasoning to save my life though...so I used dried tarragon. (I have ordered some Beau Monde seasoning from an online store so I am dying to try this the way it was supposed to be made) Crunchy and great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I made this for our neighborhood 4th of July party. I had to make a large amount so I simply adjusted the measurements accordingly...in other words I "eyeballed" alot of ingredients! I used frozen peas which I just simply thawed instead of bell pepper as suggested. This salad was the first to go! Everyone raved about it. Thanks Sally for a great and simple recipe. The cider vinegar and beau monde seasoning are the hidden secrets to this great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
I have made this recipe twice and received rave reviews both times. The vinegar gives this salad a refreshing "tang." Definately try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I will be making this tonight. I had never heard of Beau Monde, so I looked it up. Got a recipe too. I think I will make mine. Here is the one that I found. Recipe for Beau Monde Seasoning Salt: 1 tablespoon ground cloves 1 1/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon 1 tablespoon salt 1 tablespoon ground bay leaf 1 tablespoon ground allspice 2 tablespoons ground pepper 1 tablespoon ground white pepper 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1 teaspoon ground mace 1 teaspoon celery seed In a small mixing bowl, mix together all ingredients. Pour into a tightly closed jar and store in a cool, dry place. Yields approximately 9 tablespoons. With all the great reviews, I can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
OK - I thought it was a bit bland, but still decent. I think I would have liked the cheese in chunks better. I found a bottle of Beau Monde that said it had onion powder, celery seed & salt, so I just used a mixture of that. But from all the comments about the Beau Monde "made it," I have to wonder if this was correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Yum, Yum, Yum!! I loved the flavor of the cheese, mayo and Beau Monde seasoning. I used mezze penne for the macaroni, boiling until very done (we like soft macaroni). Had all the tiny, bitty chopping done and just added to the rinsed & vinegared macaroni. The addition of the vinegar was fantastic, not overwhelming at all. I had grape tomatoes so used a few more than called for. Simply delicious, gourmet tasting and worthy of 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States