Macaroni and Cheese IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Pretty good made just as the recipe says, but there are a couple of changes I may try next time. For starters there are A LOT of noodles. I would cut them down to 16 oz. instead of 24. I also added 2c. more cheese because someone else said it was more macaroni and tomatoes than mac n cheese. I'm glad I did because it was better cheesier. I also browned the beef with a little pepper and garlic salt for flavor. I think maybe next time I will use a little less juice (since I will use less macaroni), 6c. not 4 of cheese, and also add some italian seasoning. Maybe using v8 or spicy v8 instead would also kick it up a notch? Anyway, I liked it and it's a good versatile recipe you can play with or use as is. My toddler loved it and ate like a piggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My daughter and husband really liked this dish. Like the others before me, I too made some modifications since I thought 2 boxes of pasta would be way too much. I used one box of tri-colored rotini, a bag of Soy crumbles (made it vegetarian!), one 16 oz bag of shredded sharp cheddar cheese, a 14oz can of diced Fire Roasted tomatoes, diced onion and green pepper, shredded zucchini, carrot, and mushroom, and half of a 16 oz bottle of regular V-8. My husband liked it so much he wants it again this week, but with 'real' meat in it this time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This recipe is simply fantastic. I was looking for an easy Friday night meal for my family and came across this one. I have three teenage boys and they loved this. It has become a weekly staple. I added a little more ground beef for my boys the second time we tried. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I read the other reviews and thought I needed to add a little more to the recipe- I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and gluten-free noodles instead of regular ones. I also added another 1/2 bag of cheese and even added some cream cheese to make it even creamier. I added some chili powder, which I think was a mistake. That or the cream cheese. I think simply adding garlic and onion powder with a little salt would have done much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Where as my childrend LOVED this, it really shouldn't be called Macaroni and cheese. It's more like a goulash. There was not even CLOSE to enough cheese in it to constitute calling it Macaroni and cheese. Also, the recipe said it served 7 but in reality it was enough to serve an army. Our family of 6 ate it for dinner, lunch the next day and lunch the day after that!!! My husband and I thought it was OK. Will make again in a smaller batch as my children enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
My husband and I really liked this recipe. However, even using just the 16 oz box of macaroni noodles, this recipe makes a TON! I will probably try to halve it next time. We have eaten it twice and still have alot left. I used the mild Rotel tomatoes. It was a little spicy, but my husband said he liked it that way. I used 6 cups of cheese instead of 4 and loved that. Next time, I will use more ground beef because I think that will enhance it even more. But, seriously, if you make this recipe, even with the 16 oz of noodles, please put it in a bigger pan than is called for or it will boil over in your oven like mine did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was delicious! It honestly looked pretty bland, but it was VERY TASTY! I of course made modifications, as other reviewers did. I used a 16 oz box of elbow mac, Hot & Spicy V8 (3/4 of the 48oz bottle), 1-14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes w/green chilies, and once mixed and put in the baking dish, I poured some pasta sauce over the 'exposed' noodles to avoid drying. Then topped with the cheese. I would say...make sure to broil at the end because this really made the dish delicious!!! Freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I also would not call it macaroni and cheese, but I WOULD call it good. Used Ro-Tel tomoatoes as someone suggested. (the recipe is incorrect, it needs only 1-12oz box of pasta, probably just a typo), and I did saute' the optional onion in with the meat. Thanks for this recipe, I have a feeling the leftovers will taste even better once they absorb more tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
The taste is good, but I am surprised no one has mentioned that the directions are off a bit. The ingredients mention a chopped onin, but the directions don't tell you where to add it (I am guessing while browning the beef). Also, the cheese in the ingredients is measured in cups, whereas in the directions it says "one package of the grated cheese". I pretty much did a lot of this recipe by common sense, but just had to mention these things. Also I agree, it is a lot like goulash rather than mac & cheese, but it is still pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. First of all it is NOT a macaroni and cheese recipe, it is a "beefaroni" recipe, and not a good one at that. It is like pouring ketchup on pasta and calling it spagetti. It is watery, has no flavor, and most of all no cheese flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States