Macaroni and Cheese IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This recipe is simply fantastic. I was looking for an easy Friday night meal for my family and came across this one. I have three teenage boys and they loved this. It has become a weekly staple. I added a little more ground beef for my boys the second time we tried. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Interesting way of making mac n cheez. Waaay too many noodles, tho! Best to play it by ear. Don't use prepacked shredded cheese. For some reason it just doesn't melt! Will make again with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I was looking for something easy and quick to put together,they loved it and each and every one of them had a second helping!! Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I personally like it and it's easy to make...but if you...or anyone in your family, doesn't like tomatos, it's not for you. It should be macaroni and tomatos...not macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I jimmied with this recipie quite a bit but it turned out great. I used boxed mac 'n cheese and ground turkey breast to cut the fat and calories a little bit. The only tomato product I had on hand was sauce, so I used about a half a can of that. I sprinkled a handful of chedder cheese and some breadcrumbs on top. It was REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Pretty good made just as the recipe says, but there are a couple of changes I may try next time. For starters there are A LOT of noodles. I would cut them down to 16 oz. instead of 24. I also added 2c. more cheese because someone else said it was more macaroni and tomatoes than mac n cheese. I'm glad I did because it was better cheesier. I also browned the beef with a little pepper and garlic salt for flavor. I think maybe next time I will use a little less juice (since I will use less macaroni), 6c. not 4 of cheese, and also add some italian seasoning. Maybe using v8 or spicy v8 instead would also kick it up a notch? Anyway, I liked it and it's a good versatile recipe you can play with or use as is. My toddler loved it and ate like a piggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is a great, easy, weeknight meal! It reminded me of the cheesy goulash I got in school as a kid. I made a few changes based on other reviews. I doctored up the meat with salt, pepper, and a little cayenne. I only used 16oz of noodles and about 3/4 of the tomatoes and juice. I also used about twice the amount of cheese. It makes quite a bit (a full 9X13 and probably enough left in the pot for an 8X8 as well) so next time I would half it. We really enjoyed it! I'll be keeping this as a go-to staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Buczko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandwich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
OK so I think I added too much Macaroni, when something says 2 (12 oz) ... I think 24 oz, dont you? well this made so much, and it was not cheesy at all, so perhaps Ill try again with less pasta... not bad other than that let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Modo3000

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
The taste is good, but I am surprised no one has mentioned that the directions are off a bit. The ingredients mention a chopped onin, but the directions don't tell you where to add it (I am guessing while browning the beef). Also, the cheese in the ingredients is measured in cups, whereas in the directions it says "one package of the grated cheese". I pretty much did a lot of this recipe by common sense, but just had to mention these things. Also I agree, it is a lot like goulash rather than mac & cheese, but it is still pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Where as my childrend LOVED this, it really shouldn't be called Macaroni and cheese. It's more like a goulash. There was not even CLOSE to enough cheese in it to constitute calling it Macaroni and cheese. Also, the recipe said it served 7 but in reality it was enough to serve an army. Our family of 6 ate it for dinner, lunch the next day and lunch the day after that!!! My husband and I thought it was OK. Will make again in a smaller batch as my children enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States