Macaroni and Cheese IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My daughter and husband really liked this dish. Like the others before me, I too made some modifications since I thought 2 boxes of pasta would be way too much. I used one box of tri-colored rotini, a bag of Soy crumbles (made it vegetarian!), one 16 oz bag of shredded sharp cheddar cheese, a 14oz can of diced Fire Roasted tomatoes, diced onion and green pepper, shredded zucchini, carrot, and mushroom, and half of a 16 oz bottle of regular V-8. My husband liked it so much he wants it again this week, but with 'real' meat in it this time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was delicious! It honestly looked pretty bland, but it was VERY TASTY! I of course made modifications, as other reviewers did. I used a 16 oz box of elbow mac, Hot & Spicy V8 (3/4 of the 48oz bottle), 1-14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes w/green chilies, and once mixed and put in the baking dish, I poured some pasta sauce over the 'exposed' noodles to avoid drying. Then topped with the cheese. I would say...make sure to broil at the end because this really made the dish delicious!!! Freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Where as my childrend LOVED this, it really shouldn't be called Macaroni and cheese. It's more like a goulash. There was not even CLOSE to enough cheese in it to constitute calling it Macaroni and cheese. Also, the recipe said it served 7 but in reality it was enough to serve an army. Our family of 6 ate it for dinner, lunch the next day and lunch the day after that!!! My husband and I thought it was OK. Will make again in a smaller batch as my children enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
The taste is good, but I am surprised no one has mentioned that the directions are off a bit. The ingredients mention a chopped onin, but the directions don't tell you where to add it (I am guessing while browning the beef). Also, the cheese in the ingredients is measured in cups, whereas in the directions it says "one package of the grated cheese". I pretty much did a lot of this recipe by common sense, but just had to mention these things. Also I agree, it is a lot like goulash rather than mac & cheese, but it is still pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
OK so I think I added too much Macaroni, when something says 2 (12 oz) ... I think 24 oz, dont you? well this made so much, and it was not cheesy at all, so perhaps Ill try again with less pasta... not bad other than that let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Modo3000

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is a great, easy, weeknight meal! It reminded me of the cheesy goulash I got in school as a kid. I made a few changes based on other reviews. I doctored up the meat with salt, pepper, and a little cayenne. I only used 16oz of noodles and about 3/4 of the tomatoes and juice. I also used about twice the amount of cheese. It makes quite a bit (a full 9X13 and probably enough left in the pot for an 8X8 as well) so next time I would half it. We really enjoyed it! I'll be keeping this as a go-to staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Buczko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandwich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Pretty good made just as the recipe says, but there are a couple of changes I may try next time. For starters there are A LOT of noodles. I would cut them down to 16 oz. instead of 24. I also added 2c. more cheese because someone else said it was more macaroni and tomatoes than mac n cheese. I'm glad I did because it was better cheesier. I also browned the beef with a little pepper and garlic salt for flavor. I think maybe next time I will use a little less juice (since I will use less macaroni), 6c. not 4 of cheese, and also add some italian seasoning. Maybe using v8 or spicy v8 instead would also kick it up a notch? Anyway, I liked it and it's a good versatile recipe you can play with or use as is. My toddler loved it and ate like a piggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I jimmied with this recipie quite a bit but it turned out great. I used boxed mac 'n cheese and ground turkey breast to cut the fat and calories a little bit. The only tomato product I had on hand was sauce, so I used about a half a can of that. I sprinkled a handful of chedder cheese and some breadcrumbs on top. It was REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I personally like it and it's easy to make...but if you...or anyone in your family, doesn't like tomatos, it's not for you. It should be macaroni and tomatos...not macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I was looking for something easy and quick to put together,they loved it and each and every one of them had a second helping!! Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States