Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Good flavor. Didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I eliminated the dried basil and used canned diced tomatoes with basic & oregano. Probably would use a blend of 1/2 mild cheddar and 1/2 sharp cheddar as the texture seemed somewhat grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Easy and tasty. Love that it can all be made on the stovetop. We browned some ground beef with a little onion and garlic, then added the tomatos and let some of the water cook off before adding in the cheese. Also added some torn up fresh spinach. We cooked a full pound of medium seashell pasta, but only used about 2/3 of that, even after increasing the yogurt to 8oz; if we had left the juice from the tomatos it probably would have been closer. Made a very nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
It was okay, but it was kind of bland and there wasn't very cheesy. It was only a little better then a box mix and way more work. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Tasted great but it does taste better after a day or two. I did used more cheese because I didn't want it sitting around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I don't know about this recipe. I made a version of it twice before which was *delicious!* and should I remember or recreate it, I will submit it. AS WRITTEN, however, this is disgusting! In short it is similar to Velveeta+Rotel on pasta. The color is gross and the flavor leaves much to be desired. Its 'sauce' curdles the cheese, making the entire dish a florescent orange goo which tastes like canned tomatoes. If you don't want processed cheese product, do yourself a favor and substitute shredded real cheese in a normal recipe. Tomatoes or any other veggie may be added to another recipe as well. Will NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mell42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe but had a few problems. I used a bit of tomatoe sauce, milk, and extra sour cream (to replace plain yogurt) to try and make a creamier sauce, which failed but gave it a unique flavor (w/seasonings). I'd also suggest using less butter to avoid a strange oiley gritty texture. The end result wasn't exactly what I wanted but people really liked it. Next time though, I'll stick to what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I never thought of putting tomatoes into mac and cheese, but loved it. My grandson loves noodles, so I came on line to find a recipe and glad I tried it out. He loved it too. I made a couple changes though because I didn't have some ingredients. I used milk instead of yogurt and sauted some onion and celery in the butter instead of celery seed and basil. I also used fresh cherry tomatoes from the garden. I blanched them first and squeezed out the pulp then threw out the skins. I just guessed on the quantity and it turned out a little runny so I added a small amount of corn starch that I mixed with a touch of milk before adding to the noodle mix. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was so good, and so easy. I was a little hesitant about the tomato and spice choices, but it was a perfect harmony and delicious! A hit with the 4 year old too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I followed this recipe to a T and it separated leaving chunks of cheese curds in the sauce. If we are supposed to know we are to make a roux to avoid this problem, why isn't this step part of the recipe? I would have given it a lower rating, but am settling in the middle as the flavors have the potential of being great together if not for the separation problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States