Macaroni And Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I liked this recipe. I did change a few things though. I used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes, doubled the cheese(next time i'll triple it) and added onion powder(I didn't have onion salt as someone suggested they used) It was really tasty, not dry at all. I also cooked my pasta to Al Dente so it wouldn't turn to mush. Next time I will cook it for 30 minutes instead of 45 mins because I think that is too long. The pasta is already cooked and the sauce is hot. Otherwise this was yummy and I think it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This recipe was great! I especially liked the crunchy cheese and bread crumb topping. I added more cheese than asked for, and added 1/4 cup Monterrey Jack in the macaroni mixture, also. I added 1/2 tsp. onion salt since my husband loves that in macaroni and cheese. Sprinkle the top with fresh ground pepper. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This is a great base recipe- like a blank slate. I made a lot of changes, to fit my taste. I used a pre-shredded "Italian" cheese mix, and I used the whole bag (~2cups). I also added a little gorgonzola, to punch up the flavor. I used fresh tomatoes, not canned, and also added some steamed broccoli. I crushed some wheat crackers for the topping. It was delicious, everyone had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Use about a hundred times more cheese than it calls for. Even with that, fresh garlic and onion, seasoning, etc. it was still pretty bland. I might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Not nearly as cheesy as I like Macaroni and Cheese to be. I wasn't into the bread crumbs, however I liked all the other ingredients. Next time I will add alot more cheese and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThreebyFiver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Caramelized onions, diced tomatoes, and a crunchy topping make for such a delicious dish! I tend to use recipes as mere guides, so the changes I made were: • adding about 1/3 cup of diced American cheese to the Cheddar (makes it creamier w/o the Cheddar oils) • a full tsp of Italian seasoning instead of 1/2 tsp • I didn't have breadcrumbs so used dry seasoned stuffing mix The flavor was fantastic, but it was a little dry. Next time I'm using 3/4 to 1 cup milk and cutting the baking time down to the point at which it's merely heated throughout. Come winter this will be in my regular rotation of dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Not a bad recipe as a foundation. I did not add the bread crumbs since I don't care for them. Used both sharp and mild cheddar and doubled the amount. Still came out just a little dry so will use a larger can of diced tomatoes next time. I also sprinkled bacon bits on top about 15 minutes before it came out of the oven!!! My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Definitely not a creamy macaroni and cheese, but we liked it alot. Perhaps next time I will add more cheese. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This recipe is okay, but in my opinion, it's not worth it. It came out really dry and I didn't like it at all. But my husband ate it after he added a can of tomato sauce to his portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Very good, but not cheesy at all. Also, some of the noodles on top gor dried out and hard. I'd still make again, but with more cheese and tomatots, and garnish w/ scallions, because this was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States