Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cathyt
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
MY DAUGHTER, 10, WANTED TO MAKE MACACRONS.. WE FOUND THIS RECIPE. ALTHOUGH THEY WERE VERY TIME CONSUMING THEY TURN OUTLOVELY AND TASTY. THOSE WHO HAVE NOT WORKED WITH EGGS WHITES MIGHT HAVE SOME DIFFICULTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
They weren't done at 10 minutes. After putting them back in, 2 min at a time, 3 times, the tops were done but bottoms mushy. I wish I'd seen the Pop Sugar website which cooks them on the bottom two racks (switching half way) for 15 to 18 minutes which is more accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
after several attemps of making macarons. This recipe saved my life! Thanks for showing how to make good macarons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Sheek
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This worked fine, my previous attempts at other recipes failed. I am going to try again with slightly more almond, and slightly less powdered sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Sheek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe is perfect if you pay attention to what Ellie says in her comments. In the video the glossed over what I think is the most important part of successful macarons and that is the texture of the batter. If you don't get that right you will not have success. The batter needs to be loose and not hold a peak. It should flow off the spatula but not be liquid. When you pick up the spatula the batter should fall off and flatten out by the time you count to 10. You will work it a bit more adding it to your pasty bag and piping it out. If when you pipe the cookies you get peaks, you did not mix enough. Hope this is bellyful info.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
DO NOT USE STORE BOUGHT EGG WHITES! I have made this recipe in the past with real eggs, and it turned out great. However, this time I decided to try a short cut, and use egg whites from a carton. The cookies were a complete flop. This is the only thing I did differently, so I'm thinking it had to be the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I had some trouble. Maybe my almond meal wasn't ground fine enough? I also made a lot and separated the batter and added food coloring and extract--maybe that's why. I'm disappointed because wanted to make these for the family for Christmas but it failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Ok...to make the perfect macaron- 1) buy a scale. 2) find confectioners sugar that does not have cornstarch in it (or make your own). 3) find a template to trace circles on parchment paper (I find using the plastic casing from the outside of a tealight to work perfectly), filling in the stencil with the pastry bag straight up and pull away as soon as batter reaches the edge of the circle, and 4) do let them rest before baking! (Otherwise you might get a cracked top.) oh yeah- the cookies are done when they don't stick to the parchment paper, but peel right off. These tips always help them work out! I fill mine with an Italian buttercream flavored with a vanilla bean. I also scrape the seeds from part of a vanilla bean into the batter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Following the directions makes perfect Macaron! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
The directions were great for such a difficult recipe. I do think that 35 to 40g of sugar would be plenty. It is too sweet with 50g. I wish there was better instruction on when to add food coloring. I did weigh out all of my ingredients and the texture was okay but I am certain if I made them smaller they would cook in the time suggested. I think they need to be piped about the size of a 50 cent piece. You cannot find the footnotes in the mobile version of the site so it did take a while to find the measurements. Patience is definitely key in making this recipe. Someone asked me to make these for a birthday party for kids and I decided no after the ultimate failure on my first try. I am sure with practice it would get easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States