Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Like other reviewers, I had to go by volume instead of weight because I don't own a kitchen scale, and mine still turned out light and airy and SUPER sweet. Five drops of red food coloring to the mix yielded the prettiest pink cookies. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I just made this recipe, waiting for the discs to dry before i pop them in the oven. I did notice one discrepancy, in the video, you call for 50g egg whites, whereas in the footnotes, you have listed 100g, i did notice in the video, that the batter was thicker while piping. Please clarify, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lotusblossom
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I flavored my macarons using a vanilla bean and tried to color them blue with gel food color, but they ended up looking green as I was afraid if I added more color that I would ruin the macarons. Other than that I measured the ingredients out with measuring cups and sifted to the best of my abilities and the macarons turned out perfect! My first try too. I filled them with a chocolate ganache, thus creating heavenly little pillows of chocolate and vanilla goodness. I will definitely try this again and in varying flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ally
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I have tried several other recipes but was not successful. I thought I gave this a last try and viola it turned out perfect. You must follow the measurement and instructions religiously, do not over mix the egg white and bake it on the lowest level of the oven, My first batch did not turn our right because I was using an insulated baking sheet, the bottom stuck to the silicon mat. Great recipe and the result comparable to those I sampled in Paris. Please visit my blog "mi0ven.com" for Singapore/Malaysian dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paula mcclelland
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made this recipe for Xmas pressies, wrapped up in tissue paper and sat in handmade boxes. I followed the recipe to the t (except I just used 3 egg whites - only thing I didn't weigh) I read loads of comments and have summarized these tips that worked for me, if anyone nervous is about tackling these beauties: 1. Weigh your ingredients - I never used cups and spooons, only ever a scale. 2. Sift Icing sugar and almonds together (several times) 3. Work quickly, have everything ready to go. 4. Use ingredients fresh from their packaging (this is not a must but if you're worried about humidity this could help - I however made these in the height of Summer) 5. Fan Dry - I trained my fan onto the prepared macarons to "set up and skin" 6. Rotate pans in the oven - We have a fan oven and it does NOT brown evenly. I made two flavours: green was white chocolate and lime ganache center and Pink was Dark chocolate Raspberry ganache filling. SO YUMMY! Will never need another macaron recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paula mcclelland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
They were a bit too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marci
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
First time ever making. Needed 14 minutes baking otherwise it was gooey underneath. Seems a bit grainy to me. Will try blending sugar and almond meal prior to sifting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This was my first time making french macaroons, and they turned out perfect. I used berry sugar as most macaron recipes call for very fine sugar. I added purple gel and they came out a lovely colour. Very time consuming but turned out great. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
A really great base recipe for macarons. Definitely use the weight measures! A few tips not mentioned in the recipe: make sure your egg whites are at room temp before starting. They won't whip properly when cold. SLOWLY pour the sugar into the foamy whites with the mixer running; don't just dump it all in at once. If you want to color your macarons, add the coloring just before the egg whites reach soft peaks. Same if you want to flavor the cookie (I add 1/2 tsp almond extract to really make the almond flavor pop). Watch the baking process carefully. If it's a humid day, you may need to bake them a minute or two longer. Finally, leave the cookies on the baking sheet for a few minutes before attempting to remove to a wire rack. It (and a thin bladed spatula) will make the process much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I have yet to bake, but so far so good! The batter is thick yet fluffy. The only thing wrong is my batteries grainy, but that is because I ground my own almonds! Oh, and someone asked how do you know when you should be ready after folding but before baking. Here is the answer, use a spatula or a spoon and pick up some batter, the batter should be thick when pulling up some, yet It should drop off of your tool. Hope this helped:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States