Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by paula mcclelland
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made this recipe for Xmas pressies, wrapped up in tissue paper and sat in handmade boxes. I followed the recipe to the t (except I just used 3 egg whites - only thing I didn't weigh) I read loads of comments and have summarized these tips that worked for me, if anyone nervous is about tackling these beauties: 1. Weigh your ingredients - I never used cups and spooons, only ever a scale. 2. Sift Icing sugar and almonds together (several times) 3. Work quickly, have everything ready to go. 4. Use ingredients fresh from their packaging (this is not a must but if you're worried about humidity this could help - I however made these in the height of Summer) 5. Fan Dry - I trained my fan onto the prepared macarons to "set up and skin" 6. Rotate pans in the oven - We have a fan oven and it does NOT brown evenly. I made two flavours: green was white chocolate and lime ganache center and Pink was Dark chocolate Raspberry ganache filling. SO YUMMY! Will never need another macaron recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paula mcclelland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
They were a bit too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marci
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
First time ever making. Needed 14 minutes baking otherwise it was gooey underneath. Seems a bit grainy to me. Will try blending sugar and almond meal prior to sifting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This was my first time making french macaroons, and they turned out perfect. I used berry sugar as most macaron recipes call for very fine sugar. I added purple gel and they came out a lovely colour. Very time consuming but turned out great. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
A really great base recipe for macarons. Definitely use the weight measures! A few tips not mentioned in the recipe: make sure your egg whites are at room temp before starting. They won't whip properly when cold. SLOWLY pour the sugar into the foamy whites with the mixer running; don't just dump it all in at once. If you want to color your macarons, add the coloring just before the egg whites reach soft peaks. Same if you want to flavor the cookie (I add 1/2 tsp almond extract to really make the almond flavor pop). Watch the baking process carefully. If it's a humid day, you may need to bake them a minute or two longer. Finally, leave the cookies on the baking sheet for a few minutes before attempting to remove to a wire rack. It (and a thin bladed spatula) will make the process much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I have yet to bake, but so far so good! The batter is thick yet fluffy. The only thing wrong is my batteries grainy, but that is because I ground my own almonds! Oh, and someone asked how do you know when you should be ready after folding but before baking. Here is the answer, use a spatula or a spoon and pick up some batter, the batter should be thick when pulling up some, yet It should drop off of your tool. Hope this helped:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cathy tebay
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
MY DAUGHTER, 10, WANTED TO MAKE MACACRONS.. WE FOUND THIS RECIPE. ALTHOUGH THEY WERE VERY TIME CONSUMING THEY TURN OUTLOVELY AND TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy tebay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
They weren't done at 10 minutes. After putting them back in, 2 min at a time, 3 times, the tops were done but bottoms mushy. I wish I'd seen the Pop Sugar website which cooks them on the bottom two racks (switching half way) for 15 to 18 minutes which is more accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
after several attemps of making macarons. This recipe saved my life! Thanks for showing how to make good macarons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Sheek
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This worked fine, my previous attempts at other recipes failed. I am going to try again with slightly more almond, and slightly less powdered sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Sheek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States