Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was a solid recipe. I was happy with the result, but happier with a few adjustments I made to account for my oven, and my taste preferences. I found 30 grams of fine sugar was sufficient to mix with the egg whites. I used 210 grams of the icing sugar and 125 grams of the ground almonds. I add a thin dab of colour to the egg whites to give the little roonies a bit of colour. I also add a tiny amount of very intensive almond extract. I found I had to add more after sifting the almonds because there were so many little pieces left in the sieve. I also sift the icing sugar and almonds separately and weight them after sifting, then sifting again all together.... I know its pain, but so are these tasty cookies! I let them rest on the pan for 35-40 minutes and this worked for me (my house is warm though). I needed to bake at a higher temp for longer- 315 F for 12-13 minutes. I was successful with quality parchment paper. Fantastic little bite of delicious delicacy! Thanks for posting it Elle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe is great! I made pistachio macrons so I replaced half of the almond flour with some ground pistachios (very fine) and sifted both flours together. I added green food coloring right before the egg whites reached soft peaks. I even feel like I overwhipped them a bit and they still turned out! I got little "feet" and everything. Very nice recipe I will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Our daughter is allergic to nuts - can I use a substitute for Almond flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I read the tips from the original submitter, followed directions and it's just not working for me. Save your expensive almonds for a a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I have given this 5/5 because the instructions and tips were great, the macaroons i made tasted so good...however i rushed making them and that was my first mistake! allow yourself plenty of time and i think next time i would make them smaller as i seemed to make them a bit big so when i tried to assemble them they were much to thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayney Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have never made FM's before. I had time, took my time to read the reviews n tricks. If I'm gonna take the time to make these, that seem really technical, I don't want to screw em up! So, I went and bought my first digital scale. Measure, measure, measure!! I ran the almond flour through the FP and Still had a heck of a time sifting it! I was making these for the family so I just dumped the rest of the flour (2 tbls) that still had tiny pebbles in the bowl. Mey;) Gives texture and didn't seem to make a difference to me. I gave them some color, let them sit by an open window on a hot summer day and popped them in the oven. There is a vast difference of temps, I setitled on 375 then down to 325 once the pan went in, turned after 5 minutes. My cookies didn't rise as much as I thought and the lost a bit of color, the higher temp might be the reason. I will correct this next time. I GOT FEET!! No cracks, I used both silpat & parchment paper with no spray, nothing stuck. I made a mocha filling with Hershey/hazelnut coco spread & 1 tbls. Instant coffee crystals along with a little coffee creamer to thin it out. The family thought they were very good! Well, now I know I Can make them;) Thank you very much Elle. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by jengakat
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I used the silicon mats on my pan which affected my cooking time, along with my elevation so the first tray was undercooked I went with 320 for the temp and 15 minutes. I made them rootbeer flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe. My first attempt at making macarons using a different recipe was a complete failure, but I tried this one on my second attempt and I was impressed with how easy it was to follow and how beautiful everything came together. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Good recipe, but I recommend following the quantities under "Cook's Notes" if you want consistent results every time. Invest in a good electronic scale if you plan to bake a lot. Using "cups" for dry ingredients is generally not a good idea for highly technical recipes such as this. Also it took me 16-18 minutes to properly cook a batch using the recommended temperatures, so it will vary depending on your oven. If this is your first time making it like I did, they're cooked when they peel off the silpat effortlessly. if they crumble, they're nowhere near cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Wong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I liked this recipe. I saw some other's reviews about there being air pockets. To get rid of them, bang the trays against the counter to release the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States