Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I made macaroons the first time so I made half the recipe.I used 25g of egg whites ,100g of icing sugar,25g of caster sugar and 50g of almonds which I blanched and crushed at home.I followed all the instructions but the batter was too thick and so I added almost half beaten egg white(foamy)to the batter but it became runny and thin.I still baked them but they did not rise much plus there were no feet and there were cracks on the top.can Elle or allrecipes please tell me where I could have gone wrong? Thanku
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SIMPLE320
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
It took a lot for me to decide to attempt to make a macaron. I watched countless amounts of youtube videos on macaron recipes and finally decided to follow this one. What I liked about this particular recipe was the simplicity and clear directions. I had perfect macaron on my very first try and I could not be more thrilled about it. The key to this recipe or to making macaron in general is that the ingredients must be measured using a kitchen scale. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written. Although this recipe says 3 eggs, it took 2 eggs for me to get 100g. It also took me 30 strokes to mix the dry ingredients with egg white mixture perfectly. I left the uncooked cookies on the counter for exactly 1 hour and then i baked them for exactly 10 min. I did rotate the tray at 5 min though. Thank you so much for giving us the perfect macaron recipe!!! I feel like such a pro baker...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
I made it today, but increased the time to 20 mins and temp at 290, it turned out well so I am happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Elias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
My teenage daughter made these today. She weighed out the ingredients per the footnotes. We used almond flour. She cooked them for 12 minutes before taking them out, but realized after they cooled that they were not done. She put them back in the oven and they did puff up this time. We will be making these again, next time using less sugar with the egg whites and cooking longer. After hearing how hard macarons were to make, we found this recipe easy to follow and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Johnson Chou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abigail Van de Bulk
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I made pink ones, followed exactly except didn't leave them to set... came out yummy! Made a salted caramel cream filling was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Van de Bulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Really good. I used ground almonds that had a little skin on them, and it turned out fine although the they look speckled. I also added 1/4 tsp of cream of tarter and a pinch of salt to the egg whites before whisking (as another recipe suggested) and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapyapples

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jeffleonor
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Experimented a bit on sugar levels.. Decreased the confectioners by 40 grams and it still turned out great! Some tips for Canadians, bulk barn almond meal is the lowest quality i tried. Yielded like 30% fine almond flour.. The no name brand yields 50%. Will try redmill brand to see if that is better. Now i have a lot of coarse grind almond flour. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Made them at altitude (Denver) and the recipe was great. I let them sit 30 minutes to form skin. I got beautiful feet. Make sure to sift almond meal to remove lumps. Also use a silpat so they don't stick. The ones on a silpat were perfect, the ones on parchment stuck and were a pain to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Well, I tried this today. I let the egg whites beat too long, didn't catch them until they had stiff peaks - oops. I did weigh the ingredients, but next time I will run the almond meal (Bob's Mill) thru the food processor first and then sift the meal and the powdered sugar together. I didn't really fold it in, I just put the mixer on really slow, so I overbeat it at this point too. The batter tried really hard and it did rise a bit in the oven, and had a lovely delicate crust on the top, but the rest did not rise with the crust and was a sticky mess that even stuck to my silicone sheet! It sure tasted good as we scraped it off the silpat, though! Next time: Don't overbeat the whites, process the almond meal, gently fold the sifted meal/p. sugar into the whites, and gently put into a bag to squeeze out the discs. I see where the almond meal has to be a fine powder or it can't rise with the delicate whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States