Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
These came out terrible! First they barely blended together.Then when I tried to pipe them onto the baking sheet they seemed all right and then clumped together to make these massive pools of batter. I ended up having to throw out one one the cookie sheets full of them out. The ones that I was able to save before they clumped were incredibly thin and didn't bake well. They didn't fluff up at all. There are much better recipes to follow that make them way better. Try looking up Nerdy Nummies tutorial on YouTube. I didn't add the decorations the lady cooking them did but they turned out much much better than these ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by afrozeb
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
After reading so many recipes and watching so many tutorials on how to make french macarons I finally decided to give this recipe a try but with notes from other recipes and tips from reviewers. This recipe and directions don't go into depth, which can lead someone who has not done some background homework to mess up. For instance you Must bring your eggs to room temp. When adding food coloring if you choose, it's best to add it towards the end after you've almost folded in the mixture. Gel colors are better than liquid. You must also throw out any coarse pieces of almonds and although I bought almond meal I put it through the blender along with the sugar another time before sifting. After piping the cookies you must tap the bottom of the cookie sheet onto the counter about 6 times for the air bubbles to come up and pop. This way they also flatten out into a more circular shape. Other sites have mentioned to put in one cookie sheet at a time. I did just that. Don't know how it would work otherwise. I didn't have a weighing scale but my cookies still turned out amazing, with feet and all:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by stacey8
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Recipe was great! My oven need 14mins for mine to be cooked. But other then that it was fantastic :) thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I've used this recipe for shells many times with great success...now I've come back to it again to make another batch and cannot find the weights!! The website has been re-formated and I can't find the footnotes. Can anyone help and post the ingredient weights for me? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I have tried soooo oh soo many recipes for macaroons, for literary years on end now. There is a French restaurant close by that have them but they are quite expensive and the way I go through them adds up ($1ea). I tried and did my best to make these for my wedding last year,?? I dream of delicate rose petal and chocolate and mocha macaroons to blend in with my romantic candlelit reception, but obviously it didn't happened.I spent time after time doing recipe after recipe and I always ended crying on my kitchen floor. I wish I had this recipe by then its so easy and detailed ???????????? THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was a solid recipe. I was happy with the result, but happier with a few adjustments I made to account for my oven, and my taste preferences. I found 30 grams of fine sugar was sufficient to mix with the egg whites. I used 210 grams of the icing sugar and 125 grams of the ground almonds. I add a thin dab of colour to the egg whites to give the little roonies a bit of colour. I also add a tiny amount of very intensive almond extract. I found I had to add more after sifting the almonds because there were so many little pieces left in the sieve. I also sift the icing sugar and almonds separately and weight them after sifting, then sifting again all together.... I know its pain, but so are these tasty cookies! I let them rest on the pan for 35-40 minutes and this worked for me (my house is warm though). I needed to bake at a higher temp for longer- 315 F for 12-13 minutes. I was successful with quality parchment paper. Fantastic little bite of delicious delicacy! Thanks for posting it Elle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe is great! I made pistachio macrons so I replaced half of the almond flour with some ground pistachios (very fine) and sifted both flours together. I added green food coloring right before the egg whites reached soft peaks. I even feel like I overwhipped them a bit and they still turned out! I got little "feet" and everything. Very nice recipe I will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Our daughter is allergic to nuts - can I use a substitute for Almond flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I read the tips from the original submitter, followed directions and it's just not working for me. Save your expensive almonds for a a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney minthorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I have given this 5/5 because the instructions and tips were great, the macaroons i made tasted so good...however i rushed making them and that was my first mistake! allow yourself plenty of time and i think next time i would make them smaller as i seemed to make them a bit big so when i tried to assemble them they were much to thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayney Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States