Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Our daughter is allergic to nuts - can I use a substitute for Almond flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I read the tips from the original submitter, followed directions and it's just not working for me. Save your expensive almonds for a a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I have given this 5/5 because the instructions and tips were great, the macaroons i made tasted so good...however i rushed making them and that was my first mistake! allow yourself plenty of time and i think next time i would make them smaller as i seemed to make them a bit big so when i tried to assemble them they were much to thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayney Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have never made FM's before. I had time, took my time to read the reviews n tricks. If I'm gonna take the time to make these, that seem really technical, I don't want to screw em up! So, I went and bought my first digital scale. Measure, measure, measure!! I ran the almond flour through the FP and Still had a heck of a time sifting it! I was making these for the family so I just dumped the rest of the flour (2 tbls) that still had tiny pebbles in the bowl. Mey;) Gives texture and didn't seem to make a difference to me. I gave them some color, let them sit by an open window on a hot summer day and popped them in the oven. There is a vast difference of temps, I setitled on 375 then down to 325 once the pan went in, turned after 5 minutes. My cookies didn't rise as much as I thought and the lost a bit of color, the higher temp might be the reason. I will correct this next time. I GOT FEET!! No cracks, I used both silpat & parchment paper with no spray, nothing stuck. I made a mocha filling with Hershey/hazelnut coco spread & 1 tbls. Instant coffee crystals along with a little coffee creamer to thin it out. The family thought they were very good! Well, now I know I Can make them;) Thank you very much Elle. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by jengakat
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I used the silicon mats on my pan which affected my cooking time, along with my elevation so the first tray was undercooked I went with 320 for the temp and 15 minutes. I made them rootbeer flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
There's this place called macaron by patisse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe. My first attempt at making macarons using a different recipe was a complete failure, but I tried this one on my second attempt and I was impressed with how easy it was to follow and how beautiful everything came together. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Good recipe, but I recommend following the quantities under "Cook's Notes" if you want consistent results every time. Invest in a good electronic scale if you plan to bake a lot. Using "cups" for dry ingredients is generally not a good idea for highly technical recipes such as this. Also it took me 16-18 minutes to properly cook a batch using the recommended temperatures, so it will vary depending on your oven. If this is your first time making it like I did, they're cooked when they peel off the silpat effortlessly. if they crumble, they're nowhere near cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Wong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I liked this recipe. I saw some other's reviews about there being air pockets. To get rid of them, bang the trays against the counter to release the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dina
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used by weight and real egg whites and it came out fantastic . I was wondering if it would be as good using the egg whites in cartons , it is written pasterized
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States