Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
There's this place called macaron by patisse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe. My first attempt at making macarons using a different recipe was a complete failure, but I tried this one on my second attempt and I was impressed with how easy it was to follow and how beautiful everything came together. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Good recipe, but I recommend following the quantities under "Cook's Notes" if you want consistent results every time. Invest in a good electronic scale if you plan to bake a lot. Using "cups" for dry ingredients is generally not a good idea for highly technical recipes such as this. Also it took me 16-18 minutes to properly cook a batch using the recommended temperatures, so it will vary depending on your oven. If this is your first time making it like I did, they're cooked when they peel off the silpat effortlessly. if they crumble, they're nowhere near cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Wong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I liked this recipe. I saw some other's reviews about there being air pockets. To get rid of them, bang the trays against the counter to release the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dina
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used by weight and real egg whites and it came out fantastic . I was wondering if it would be as good using the egg whites in cartons , it is written pasterized
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
just a suggestion based on my experience with a mortar and pestle at work but if you cannot find ground almonds or if they are expensive you might try using one of these to ground them - it is what phamacists use to ground tablets for compounding and it grinds them very fine - it is relatively inexpensive too - just FYI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mara
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made them and they came out great! The sad thing is I can't repeat it!!!! They are not coming out as the first time I did them. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
overall this recipe was perfect! this was my first time baking macarons. The only thing is that the baking is much longer than 10 minutes. my first batch was pretty much a loss. second time around i put the over at 325 instead of 285 and baked them for 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taco
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a fairly good recipe but I had trouble taking them off the silicone mat without ruining them, (they're now cracked and not as pretty) and they turned out to be flat as pancakes. They didn't cook with the time. I put the oven temperature a bit higher and watched them cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Followed the directions weighing all ingredients, and it worked the first time! I did have to bake for about double the time listed here, as half of the macarons were still underbaked when I tried to remove them from the oven (that's the only time they stuck - when they weren't cooked all the way through). I simply removed those that were done, and put the rest back into the oven. Next time, I'll either reverse their position in the oven after about 8 minutes, or I might try the convection oven. I used a silicone mat that is marked on one side with circles for macarons purchased from Amazon.com, and it made creating perfect macarons of equal size and shape easy, and the cookies came off without any effort. As another reviewer suggested, I will reduce the 50 grams of baker's sugar to 35 grams the next time around, as this was a little too sweet for us. I used a salted caramel and a strawberry buttercream filling. Both were yummy, but next time, I think I'll pipe the icing onto the cookie to keep from sometimes shattering the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States