Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Really good. I used ground almonds that had a little skin on them, and it turned out fine although the they look speckled. I also added 1/4 tsp of cream of tarter and a pinch of salt to the egg whites before whisking (as another recipe suggested) and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapyapples

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jeffleonor
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Experimented a bit on sugar levels.. Decreased the confectioners by 40 grams and it still turned out great! Some tips for Canadians, bulk barn almond meal is the lowest quality i tried. Yielded like 30% fine almond flour.. The no name brand yields 50%. Will try redmill brand to see if that is better. Now i have a lot of coarse grind almond flour. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Made them at altitude (Denver) and the recipe was great. I let them sit 30 minutes to form skin. I got beautiful feet. Make sure to sift almond meal to remove lumps. Also use a silpat so they don't stick. The ones on a silpat were perfect, the ones on parchment stuck and were a pain to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Well, I tried this today. I let the egg whites beat too long, didn't catch them until they had stiff peaks - oops. I did weigh the ingredients, but next time I will run the almond meal (Bob's Mill) thru the food processor first and then sift the meal and the powdered sugar together. I didn't really fold it in, I just put the mixer on really slow, so I overbeat it at this point too. The batter tried really hard and it did rise a bit in the oven, and had a lovely delicate crust on the top, but the rest did not rise with the crust and was a sticky mess that even stuck to my silicone sheet! It sure tasted good as we scraped it off the silpat, though! Next time: Don't overbeat the whites, process the almond meal, gently fold the sifted meal/p. sugar into the whites, and gently put into a bag to squeeze out the discs. I see where the almond meal has to be a fine powder or it can't rise with the delicate whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Like other reviewers, I had to go by volume instead of weight because I don't own a kitchen scale, and mine still turned out light and airy and SUPER sweet. Five drops of red food coloring to the mix yielded the prettiest pink cookies. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I just made this recipe, waiting for the discs to dry before i pop them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lotusblossom
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I flavored my macarons using a vanilla bean and tried to color them blue with gel food color, but they ended up looking green as I was afraid if I added more color that I would ruin the macarons. Other than that I measured the ingredients out with measuring cups and sifted to the best of my abilities and the macarons turned out perfect! My first try too. I filled them with a chocolate ganache, thus creating heavenly little pillows of chocolate and vanilla goodness. I will definitely try this again and in varying flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ally
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I have tried several other recipes but was not successful. I thought I gave this a last try and viola it turned out perfect. You must follow the measurement and instructions religiously, do not over mix the egg white and bake it on the lowest level of the oven, My first batch did not turn our right because I was using an insulated baking sheet, the bottom stuck to the silicon mat. Great recipe and the result comparable to those I sampled in Paris. Please visit my blog "mi0ven.com" for Singapore/Malaysian dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paula mcclelland
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made this recipe for Xmas pressies, wrapped up in tissue paper and sat in handmade boxes. I followed the recipe to the t (except I just used 3 egg whites - only thing I didn't weigh) I read loads of comments and have summarized these tips that worked for me, if anyone nervous is about tackling these beauties: 1. Weigh your ingredients - I never used cups and spooons, only ever a scale. 2. Sift Icing sugar and almonds together (several times) 3. Work quickly, have everything ready to go. 4. Use ingredients fresh from their packaging (this is not a must but if you're worried about humidity this could help - I however made these in the height of Summer) 5. Fan Dry - I trained my fan onto the prepared macarons to "set up and skin" 6. Rotate pans in the oven - We have a fan oven and it does NOT brown evenly. I made two flavours: green was white chocolate and lime ganache center and Pink was Dark chocolate Raspberry ganache filling. SO YUMMY! Will never need another macaron recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paula mcclelland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
They were a bit too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States