Macadamia Nut Crusted Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I've made countless recipes from this site, but this is the first time I have reviewed a recipe. I don't really care for fish much, but I've decided to eat it for my health. Looking for a recipe with ingredients I had on hand, I found this one. I can't get over how good it was. I absolutely loved it! To save money, I only used half of the macadamia nut mixture, but it would have been wonderful with the whole amount. I covered the fish with tin foil and put the fish in a 400 degree oven for 7 minutes. Then I put the paste on the fish and returned it to the oven (w/o the foil) for another 7 minutes. Don't overcook! Trust me, you will love this recipe. I can't wait to make it for my friends! Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
If you follow the recipe to broil the fish, the topping will burn right away. I would recommend baking the fish at a high temperature with the topping vs broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This was incredible! It had a great flavor was easy to make. Everyone in my family loved it! I made a couple of small changes, I only used half of the nuts to make the paste and chopped the rest to sprinkle on the top. I baked it at 400 instead of broiling, my broiler is out of commision, and it still browned the nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Listened to others and baked the tilapia for 10 minutes at 400F. Also, I assembled a marinade from 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, 3 crushed cloves of garlic, 4 squirts of soy sauce and a pinch of old bay seasoning. I spread this over 4 fillets and let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours before cooking. Came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was really good. Tilapia is such a mild fish and the nut crust gave it a good flavor. I didn’t have any macadamia nuts so I used pecans instead and it turned out just great. Like others suggested I baked the fish at 400 for about 10 mins and then broiled the fish for about 3 mins to make the topping nice and crispy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Like some others, I baked vs. broil. Turned out great. Wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Prothro's Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I cooked the fish way less than the suggested 15 minutes, I only cooked it 6 minutes and I think anything more might have overdone the fish. It was wonderful! I just wish the actual fish had more flavor. Next time I plan on marinating the fish to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Prothro's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I baked this at 400 as one other reviewer did! It came out so good that my husband said ' I wish I made this one so I could still be the better cook'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Very good! Though I added some water to the topping, it was almost too thick to spread. I think next time I may use only 6 oz of nuts, there was a little too much topping compared to fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I just made this recipe today and it was very tasty. I will definitely make it again. I don't think anything will stand 15 minutes in the broiler unless it's made of steel. I of coursed followed everybody's suggestion and baked it for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees until the topping was golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States